We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Forno Pizzeria

Il Forno Pizzeria
1035 West Patrick St., Frederick, MD 21702
301-846-0422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 331 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Il Forno has never disappointed us with their pizza. The pizza is cooked in a wood fired oven and the toppings are always fresh. The hardest part is deciding what to get on the pizza. Our last visit I wanted something "healthy", so I got the plain cheese topped with fresh spinach. They are generous with the cheese (lots of cheesy goodness) and the crust is always tasty. You never get a cardboard tasting crust here. Good selection of beers and a popular place for post softball game celebrations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Pizza In Frederick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've eaten a lot of pizza but the pizza at Il Forno left me dreaming about how soon I could get back there to eat more! The menu offers a good variety of toppings - all fresh ingredients. Delicious! I was there on a crowded night after a concert. An adult baseball team was there and although they were loud, service was still good and the food was delivered hot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Could be so much better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here with kids. Pizza was a disappointment. Crust was crisp, which was nice, but too many toppings made the pizza wet, which made the crust soggy after a minute. Toppings were not that good, either. Staff obviously thought the place was there hang out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unique Pizza Dough makes it one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After a few visits I finally put my finger on what the dough reminds me of... fresh hand-rolled pretzels! If you like those, you will love this pizza, of any variety. Our favorite mix is pepperoni, mushrooms and pineapple.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favorite pizza place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've been here roughly once every two months for the last 15+ years. The pizza (especially the margherita) is amazing! I highly recommend the garlic bread too :) The staff is awesome and the happy hour prices are unbeatable. I now live within walking distance of Il Forno and frequent it even more. If you're not eating, it's a great place to sit and watch a game too. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Forno Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Il Forno Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Forno Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.