We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite pizza place ever!”
Review of Il Forno Pizzeria

1035 West Patrick St., Frederick, MD 21702
301-846-0422
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #38 of 313 restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    22
    23
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Il Forno Pizzeria
See the most recent reviews
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite pizza place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've been here roughly once every two months for the last 15+ years. The pizza (especially the margherita) is amazing! I highly recommend the garlic bread too :) The staff is awesome and the happy hour prices are unbeatable. I now live within walking distance of Il Forno and frequent it even more. If you're not eating, it's a great place to sit and watch a game too. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pizza in MD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The pizza was awesome! We ordered pepperoni (my fave) with sausage. It was very tasty. The issue wasn't with the food or the service, but with the ceiling fans that surprisingly cooled our pizza before we could finish it...our waitress gladly had it placed back in the oven.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
1 review
“Horrible/expensive/not worth the money!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Me and my husband have been here 4 times. The previous 2 times we ordered cheese fries and both times they were burnt to a crisp and one side of the pizza was also burnt. I told the waitress the fries are burnt and she said it was because they had to melt the cheese! I told no it's not, they are burnt to a crisp and she finally replaced with a better batch, but still slightly burnt. Last night we were forced to order here because everything was closed. We ordered one large pizza with 2 toppings, a small pizza with 2 toppings and 8 wings for take out. Our bill was $40!!!!!! Insane!!! I have never paid that much anywhere!!! And the pizza was bland and lacking much flavor! This place is extremely expensive and not worth the money. I have gone to more upscale restaurants and paid less! Never again!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Frederick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We love the pizza here. Have not even bothered with the rest of the menu because once we walk in the door the smell of the pizza leaves us no other option. Pizza! It's kind of a dive and I wouldn't hang out there on a Saturday night. But if you want to try an amazing pizza they are worth a stop. They have very limited delivery so plan to go there yourself. Kid-friendly in the afternoon. Too many bar crawlers at night. Service is decent. Bathroom needs a serious update.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stop here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Large facility indoor and outside. Good service and food. Bar area usually well attended. Good menu for eat in or take out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Forno Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Il Forno Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Forno Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.