We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed and underwhelmed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
44 N Market St, Fl 1, Frederick, MD 21701-5471
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 320 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
Laytonsville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed and underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I were looking forward to Isabella's tonight and ordered several different tapas. Their "fried asparagus" was touted as a signature dish and came out flavorless with a gummy crust and no seasoning. They offered to bring us a new order but we decided to wait for our other dishes instead. We ordered a skirt steak entree that was supposed to be medium - it came out well done. We told the waiter and he apologized and once again, offered to get us a new steak. At that point, we were so underwhelmed with our meal, we just asked for the check. The manager came over and apologized for the steak - he had no knowledge that we had also sent back the asparagus. The other dishes we got were just OK (goat cheese flat bread and anchovy bruschetta). We have followed Mike Isabella and really enjoyed his former restaurant in DC called Zaytinya and eat there frequently - Isabella's was a real disappointment. We were offered a free dessert but had already written off this dining experience. We were not offered any future credit nor were we comped anything other than the dishes we returned. There are other tapas places in Frederick that we will go back to - Isabella's is not one of them!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    60
    17
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Wandered into this place and had the 3 tapas lunch special with a draft IPA from their sister institution, a brewpub. Third tapa never arrived but after 15 min I asked for,it and it was brought. To my tastes the IPA was chemical tasting .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Isabella's is a must if you live in Frederick, or if you're just visiting. The selection of tapas is great, plenty to choose from for all food groups. Make sure to order the Asparagus Fries, (I forgot the spanish name for them, I believe they're the first option under appetizers.) you will not be disappointed. I don't think I've ever ordered something from here that I haven't liked. Service is great, staff is friendly. If you can during summer, make sure to sit outside, the location is perfect in Frederick's beautiful downtown.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A must in Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great wine and food. The ceviche is especially good and the variety of dishes is nice. The service is friendly and the atmosphere is lively and casual at the same time. I would recommend this spot for couples and big groups. There are so many choices, there is really something for everyone. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Casual Tappas spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We love the asparagus, the in-house cured salmon, goat cheese fritters, pretty much everything we have tried. They have some decent draft beer from Brewer's alley down the street (who own this restaurant I believe) but just the basics. The atmosphere is pleasant and the staff has always been helpful and friendly...even if they often can't pronounce the names of the tappas items.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.