We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
44 N Market St, Fl 1, Frederick, MD 21701-5471
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 339 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
Durham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Wandered into this place and had the 3 tapas lunch special with a draft IPA from their sister institution, a brewpub. Third tapa never arrived but after 15 min I asked for,it and it was brought. To my tastes the IPA was chemical tasting .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    67
    18
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Market, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Isabella's is a must if you live in Frederick, or if you're just visiting. The selection of tapas is great, plenty to choose from for all food groups. Make sure to order the Asparagus Fries, (I forgot the spanish name for them, I believe they're the first option under appetizers.) you will not be disappointed. I don't think I've ever ordered something from here that I haven't liked. Service is great, staff is friendly. If you can during summer, make sure to sit outside, the location is perfect in Frederick's beautiful downtown.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A must in Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great wine and food. The ceviche is especially good and the variety of dishes is nice. The service is friendly and the atmosphere is lively and casual at the same time. I would recommend this spot for couples and big groups. There are so many choices, there is really something for everyone. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Casual Tappas spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We love the asparagus, the in-house cured salmon, goat cheese fritters, pretty much everything we have tried. They have some decent draft beer from Brewer's alley down the street (who own this restaurant I believe) but just the basics. The atmosphere is pleasant and the staff has always been helpful and friendly...even if they often can't pronounce the names of the tappas items.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Good: Order the favorites - the asparagus, the goat cheese fritters, the meatballs, you can't go wrong; I love their options for 3 tapas lunch and their early bird menu; their happy hour is also really great

Bad: The bar can get really crowded and then you miss out on HH deals

Ugly: Not a thing

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.