We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious paella” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
44 N Market St, Fl 1, Frederick, MD 21701-5471
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 317 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Greek, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
Hampstead, Maryland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Delicious paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

A beautiful day for a ride to visit Frederick from Hampstead. I made a reservation (open table) just in case they were crowded on a Saturday. We were greeted and seated instantly. We ordered several tapas and they all came so rapidly. Our main dish was paella a la valenciana. Too bad I was driving I would have loved to order their sangria. There is always next time. I love the food at Isabella's, I will absolutely be back with more friends and someone else to drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    73
    18
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Asparagus "fries" and chiles rellenos on Frederick's foodie strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Another winner in Frederick's foodie oasis. Lots of seafood, expertly cooked, incorporated into what I suspect are giant-sized tapas, if you go by Spanish standards. As with other tapas places, the bill can add up fast but at Isabella's, this is still a great value. Tiny lapses prevent this from getting five stars, in my view. A delicious deep-fried asparagus appetizer with four large spears standing upright in a wine glass with spicy aioli at the bottom would have benefited from a different presentation, and should have been peeled before cooking -- the ends were a bit too tough to be pleasant. The bar area on a Sunday night was lively, but we wanted to talk, so it would have been nice to be seated a bit further from the action and closer to the working fireplace. These are quibbles; I'd still heartily recommend this as a lovely option, reasonably priced, well served and comfortable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithsburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with a date. It is a nice way to spend an evening; sharing tapas with someone you want to get to know. The food is amazing and inspires conversation. There was live music the evening we were there. It was perfect. Perfect ending to a perfect evening.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cute n' Tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I would give this a 3.5, actually. Easy access, right on the main strip through the quaint part of historic Frederick. Warm and cute inside with a double-sided bar and ok bar staff (we were there during a pub crawl though, so who knows how they are on a normal night). I love a place where you can choose how much to eat/order based on how hungry you are and tapas is perfect for that! While both the red and white sangria were very in-the-box and sweet, some of the tapas dishes here were very good. The bacon dates were YUM, the Iberico ham was succulent, and the fried asparagus was delicious--even if fried things don't strike me as particularly Spanish. Good chorizo. The grilled tomato bread tapa was a bit soggy and flavorless, but the truffled green beans and obligatory patatas bravas were quite good. We went with a veggie friend, so we didn't try very many of the meat dishes. Excellent choices for non-meat eaters. We'll be back soon to try a wider variety of plates. Yum in Frederick!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Although no fault of this place but Tapa menu's confuse me. This place has Tapas. I went for HH which is super great. With drink specials they also have FREE food. How can it get any better than that! I would give the free food three stars on quality but hey it's FREE to those participating in HH.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.