We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been on my list for years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
44 N Market St, Fl 1, Frederick, MD 21701-5471
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 330 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
brooklyn
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Been on my list for years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful place to intimately impress friends. It is my go to place in Frederick! Please call ahead for reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    64
    18
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Great on Friday from 5-6:30”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Three Tapas for $12.95 from 5-6:30 hence the crowds. Many to chose from. All very good. Service is good and they also have a nice wine list.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This was a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love tapas. LOVE. I find that no matter where I go, I know that hitting up a tapas restaurant equals a warm, inviting environment with creative food and drinks. The drink menu was sub par for a tapas bar, for sure. There is so much room to have specialized drinks and they really kept it to the same sorts of things you could get anywhere else on the street filled with bars and restaurants. We ate some very good plantain chips that were a special and the aoli sauce was really tasty but the paella was nothing to write home about.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tasty food meant for sharing, but that's all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We'd had good visits to Isabella's in the past but our last visit was enough to keep us from going back so frequently.

First I want to compliment the food. All the food we've had there was amazing. The goat cheese fritters are our very favorite. Tapas are the stars of the menu. Forget the rest. It's typical to order a round of tapas to pass around the table, then another round and another (if you have room!) However, that could take all night because the service (which used to be fine) has gotten slower and surlier.

The sangria was watery. Desserts are fine, but spend your stomach space on tapas instead if you go. And be prepared to wait a while.

The place turns into a nightclub after dinner hours on the weekend. Serves corporate breakfasts during the week. Trying to be too many things at once and it's affected the quality of their service.

Beware: they no longer accept restaurant.com gift certificates. And offer no apology for that. We had used them before (because the place is quite expensive for us without a little help from a gift card or coupon.) On a previous visit we tried to use one and were told we needed to contact the restaurant.com website. The server seemed visibly annoyed that we tried to use it (even though it was NOT expired) and as a result we could not afford as much of a meal there as we had planned. This affected our enjoyment of the meal as well as the amount of money that server made off our table. Would have been nice if they had posted signage outside or offered some kind of compensation for this, rather than let their customers plan a nice meal and then find out that they can no longer afford it. It's a pricey place. No doubt about that! Maybe we shouldn't go if we can't afford it at full price but we prefer to shop and eat at local businesses. So we expect to pay a little more. But this is no longer worth it.

The poor service, high prices and noise level (on a weekend, forget about having a conversation with your dinner partner!), this place is not worth the hype anymore.

Too bad because I still get cravings for those goat cheese fritters.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

One of the few places downtown open for breakfast so we gave it a try. Some unique, tasty breakfast options at reasonable prices.
Came again for dinner and really enjoyed it. Choice of small plates or full meals. Everything was well prepared. Service was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.