We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
44 N Market St, Fl 1, Frederick, MD 21701-5471
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 315 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“An elegant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful hand crafted food. Lots of fun to pick and chose different appetizers or a mean. Well cooked, not your average mexican restaurant - this is definitely a nice spanish restaurant with loads of good tapas.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    69
    18
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Virginia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Great Start to a fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We decided to visit Frederick for a night out & from Tripadvisor recommendations & a friend's recommendation, Isabellas was our 1st stop. The menu was extensive, but we decided on 2 plates for each person & lots of sharing. The Lomo Mantado & Portabella mushrooms were our favorite dishes that we selected. The portions were perfect for sharing & arrived quickly. We had 2 orders of the Asparagus fries & they were delicious, hot & crispy. We enjoyed Coconut Mojitos & a bottle of wine between our group of 4. I would definitely recommend Isabellas & hope to go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stopped both ways on our anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We make a point to stop at Isabella's whenever we are passing near Frederick. The Asparagus Fries are awesome. The daily Lunch special is a great deal - so Friday was a great time to swing by. Enjoy a glass of Sangria and relax.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place for Tapas/small plates, lots of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've eaten in this restaurant a few times over the years, when I was in the area and I've always enjoyed the food. it's so much fun to try small plates of really good food, mix/match and share with others. My husband and I just love to order a bunch of stuff off the menu and sit back and relax and enjoy the casual atmosphere. Always a good choice for lunch or dinner, especially if you get in before it gets crowded!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Expansive tapas menu supplemented by some tasty mideastern/ Turkish items. Everything we ordered was tasty. Service good, quick and efficient maybe a bit hurried. Restaurant had tasteful decor but busy and tables a wee bit crowded and tight.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.