We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
44 N Market St, Fl 1, Frederick, MD 21701-5471
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 314 restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
Lansdowne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An elegant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful hand crafted food. Lots of fun to pick and chose different appetizers or a mean. Well cooked, not your average mexican restaurant - this is definitely a nice spanish restaurant with loads of good tapas.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    52
    58
    16
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Virginia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great Start to a fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We decided to visit Frederick for a night out & from Tripadvisor recommendations & a friend's recommendation, Isabellas was our 1st stop. The menu was extensive, but we decided on 2 plates for each person & lots of sharing. The Lomo Mantado & Portabella mushrooms were our favorite dishes that we selected. The portions were perfect for sharing & arrived quickly. We had 2 orders of the Asparagus fries & they were delicious, hot & crispy. We enjoyed Coconut Mojitos & a bottle of wine between our group of 4. I would definitely recommend Isabellas & hope to go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stopped both ways on our anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We make a point to stop at Isabella's whenever we are passing near Frederick. The Asparagus Fries are awesome. The daily Lunch special is a great deal - so Friday was a great time to swing by. Enjoy a glass of Sangria and relax.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for Tapas/small plates, lots of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've eaten in this restaurant a few times over the years, when I was in the area and I've always enjoyed the food. it's so much fun to try small plates of really good food, mix/match and share with others. My husband and I just love to order a bunch of stuff off the menu and sit back and relax and enjoy the casual atmosphere. Always a good choice for lunch or dinner, especially if you get in before it gets crowded!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Expansive tapas menu supplemented by some tasty mideastern/ Turkish items. Everything we ordered was tasty. Service good, quick and efficient maybe a bit hurried. Restaurant had tasteful decor but busy and tables a wee bit crowded and tight.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar to your Saves list