We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country gem with upscale food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monocacy Crossing

Monocacy Crossing
4424A Urbana Pike, Frederick, MD 21704
+1 301-846-4204
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Monocacy Crossing is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 339 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Country gem with upscale food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

A quaint older building that deceives you into thinking its just another average country eatery. Every dish they prepare tells you they care about food. Good variety, wonderful flavors and great preparation. This place is unassuming and wonderful if you lave eating out. In good weather the outside tables are a joy, Tucked away in a quiet area and just so pleasant to enjoy with your companion(s). Its hidden just a bit which has only one advantage that otherwise it would be overwhelmed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germantown Maryland
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Monocacy Crossing, great dining at reasonable costs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Family dinner last night for my dad's birthday. As usual the service, food and staff were excellent. I am not going to write a lengthy review other than to say Monocacy crossing is a favorite of mine and I go there whenever I can for a great meal. The total cost including tip for the six of us was $296 which considering what we had, two new York strips, two filet mignons, one pasta dish, one special of rockfish, six appetizers and a few glasses of wine was very, very reasonable!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Birthday Girl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Once again we opted to visit MC for a special occasion - a birthday celebration. Since it was close to Christmas, we called for reservations specifying a table near the wood burning stove. The former enclosed porch at times is chilly in the winter. We arrived and were seated next to the stove as requested. We started with an excellent red wine with a cocoanut shrimp app. My wife had the seafood/dirty rice combination and it was excellent and I had the beef medallions. Service was prompt but not rushed. Near the end of our meal a lady from the next table came over, sat down and introduced herself. My wife taught her children in kindergarten some 35 years ago and wanted to tell her what they were now doing. It made the evening for my wife to be remembered for her teaching abilities. MC is always our choice for special occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Casual Gourmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in a non-assuming quaint old house in a nook off of the road is where we've had the best buttermilk fried chicken with ham gravy, caprese & prosciutto, corn salsa, jambalaya and much more. Monocacy is one of those places that makes your mouth water when you think about something specific from their menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Fantastic meal and atmosphere! The wait staff was A+ also. There is not a single thing to complain about and a many to compliment. Not only was the food wonderful and exploding with flavor but the portion sizes were excellent also, we couldn't even come close to finishing dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monocacy Crossing also viewed

 

Been to Monocacy Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monocacy Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.