We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming locale, very good service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monocacy Crossing

Monocacy Crossing
4424A Urbana Pike, Frederick, MD 21704
301-846-4204
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Monocacy Crossing is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 320 restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Charming locale, very good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food is above average--some interesting choices like the vegetable napoleon. Good fish selections, The servers are always accommodating. I lunch here for birthdays with friends and we really have fun!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    63
    25
    7
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Waste Your TIme - First and Last Time Here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have heard so many great reviews about Monocacy Crossing and my husband made resevations for Valentine Day. When he originally called the only time that was available was 9:00pm, so he was put on a waiting list and we were able to get a 7:00pm resevation. Our server was very attentive (at first) we ordered 2 appetizers the mussels and the scallops. The mussels were terrible - mushy and blan. The scallops on the other hand were wonderful. The server came back and asked how we liked our appetizers. I told her the scallops were wonderful and my husband said that the mussels were not very good and he did not like them. The server was taken back by this and kept questioning if he was sure they were not good. Well, from that moment on her attitude towards us totally changed. I had ordered the special Filet Oscar, it was ok, nothing special. I guess for $38.00 I expected it to be better. My husband ordered the crabcakes. The presentation looked ok, but the taste was not good at all. We passed on dessert and opted to just take the check. The server brought over the check never said thank you, come back again, kiss my _ _ _ nothing. We paid the bill and we left. Passed her in the little hallway on the way out and she said nothing to us. My husband and I both said we will not be returning to Monocacy Crossing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have been dining at Monocacy Crossing for at least 10 years and are continually impressed with the fine food and great service. The exterior belies the gem of a fine restaurant this is.We often call ahead to make sure that their coconut pound cake is on the dessert menu. Whether brunch, lunch, or dinner, the chef always has interesting choices. For the last few years, the menu has reflected some Southern influence. The fried chicken and shrimp and grits compare favorably to Charleston's:)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Nice Presentation, Food Over Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Monococy Crossing was a great spot for a lady's birthday celebration. The server was very attentive and the table was set up as requested. The food looks good, but is just average in taste. Desserts are unimaginitive and lackluster. This is a quaint, out of the way place that definitely subsidizes the lack of traffic with above average pricing. They automatically add a 20% tip even for smaller parties. The service deserves it, but patrons don't notice and tip another 20.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“do no tmiss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The food here is incredible!! I like almost everything on the menu. The staff is great. Kelly and Rich are very nice people and treat you like friends. Do not miss going to this place. It is not in downtown Frederick but definitely worth the short drive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monocacy Crossing also viewed

 
Frederick, MD

Been to Monocacy Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monocacy Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.