We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Nice Presentation, Food Over Priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monocacy Crossing

Monocacy Crossing
4424A Urbana Pike, Frederick, MD 21704
301-846-4204
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Monocacy Crossing is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 330 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Nice Presentation, Food Over Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Monococy Crossing was a great spot for a lady's birthday celebration. The server was very attentive and the table was set up as requested. The food looks good, but is just average in taste. Desserts are unimaginitive and lackluster. This is a quaint, out of the way place that definitely subsidizes the lack of traffic with above average pricing. They automatically add a 20% tip even for smaller parties. The service deserves it, but patrons don't notice and tip another 20.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    28
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“do no tmiss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The food here is incredible!! I like almost everything on the menu. The staff is great. Kelly and Rich are very nice people and treat you like friends. Do not miss going to this place. It is not in downtown Frederick but definitely worth the short drive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food's always excellent and the service is professional and friendly. Good wine list and cozy, upscale ambience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Country Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

You might drive past this restaurant thinking it is a locals bar but don't. It is casually elegant with a wide range of menu items and excellent, friendly service. There were four of us.

We started off with the assorted cheese platter with pate which was plentiful enough for four to enjoy. Cocktails were generous portions as well.

For dinner, I had the Shrimp with Lobster Infused Grits - Wow. Prepared differently than S&G's I have had in the past but right at the top of the best I ever had. Others in our party had Mahi Mahi, Pork and Beef dishes. All were absolutely pleased with their meals.

The service was outstanding as well. Two servers take care of your needs.

Make sure you bring your wallet. Entrees were in the 20s to 34 but portions were plentiful and veggies included.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice hidden gem in Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went for lunch after receiving great feedback from friends and couldn't have had a better experience! We had the calamari as an appetizer and it was absolutely delicious, the waitress recommended the lentil soup and crab cake sandwich, they were also outstanding, service was great and overall we enjoyed our little date very much.
A little pricey but totally worth it, can't wait to try it for dinner!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monocacy Crossing also viewed

 

Been to Monocacy Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monocacy Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.