We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diverse menu - Well Prepared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monocacy Crossing

Monocacy Crossing
4424A Urbana Pike, Frederick, MD 21704
+1 301-846-4204
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Monocacy Crossing is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 334 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Washington D.C.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Diverse menu - Well Prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very interesting and different choices on the menu. Everything came out well prepared and delicious. Service was friendly and quick. The outdoor patio is especially nice in the summer. Prices are a touch high but not over the top. A great find in the Urbana area

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    9
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Went last night with friends. I dropped off flowers earlier in the day to have on the table for my wife and my friends wife. I also ordered a bottle of champagne to have at the table as soon as we got there. Staff was on point. We all had very tasty and well prepared meals. Everything came out as expected. During warmer weather the outside seating is wonderful. The inside doesn't have any view and could use some updating. I think it's on the pricy side, but that won't discourage me from going back again and again. I think it is one of the top restaurants in Frederick.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Definitely one of the top restaurants in the Frederick area. Doesn't look like much from the outside but inside the menu is always eclectic and delicious, coupled with great service. Good "noise level" as well -- you can actually carry on a conversation at your table without shouting, unlike so many other restaurants these days.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definately recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went to Monocacy Crossing last night for dinner after passing many times throughout the years. After reading some of the reviews decided to try the scallops as an appetizer and they were very good. we split a grilled romaine salad and they were nice enough to put on seperate plates. The salad was excellent, a little too much dressing but dressing was very good. HUsband had seafood jumbo.. and he loved it, I had the New York strip and it was cooked perfectly. We ended the night with the warm coconut pound cake which was sooo good. They also offered several other homemade desserts that looked great and I plan to go back to have the opportunity to try them all. I would give this place a 4.5 stars. The only downside, is that we were seated near a large party that was very loud but it ended up being fine. Service was great, very friendly. Definately a place we will return to. Was suprised how busy they were on a Tuesday night, even though the restaurant was full, the food was served with nice timing and we didn't feel rushed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have been a few times and each time we have enjoyed not only the food but the atmosphere as well. Service is usually quite nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monocacy Crossing also viewed

 

Been to Monocacy Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monocacy Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.