We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monocacy Crossing

Monocacy Crossing
4424A Urbana Pike, Frederick, MD 21704
301-846-4204
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Monocacy Crossing is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 320 restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The service and the food at this restaurant are excellent. We have eaten here probably five times this year and have always been very satisfied.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    63
    25
    7
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We raved about Monocacy Crossing when they first opened and went there frequently. However, the last couple of times we visited, we were both disappointed. I ordered a burger and fries, & the roll was hard as a rock and the fries had ben refried so many times they were almost black. My husband's salad was cooked romaine, and he was very unhappy with it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Worth going out of the way for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant while searching Open Table. The menu was top notch and homemade with primarily Southern inspired food. Each entree we had was delicious. I would also recommend trying some of their specialty drinks. Service was very attentive and the restaurant was quiet even though several people were eating.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Glad I made the wrong turn that led to Monocacy Crossing Restaurant and Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I'd been in town on business for the week, and most of the recommended local fare was downtown... but a wrong turn took me on a scenic drive that ended with a delicious dinner served by an excellent staff in a cozy atmosphere. White tablecloths and quality, crafted food but just as welcoming to jeans as a suit. I had the seared scallop appetizer with the sirloin salad as an entree, but wish I could have sampled everything on the menu. Next time I'm in the area, this will be my go-to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes in Maryland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Quiet little out of the way restaurant. Great food, charm and good service. It is our go-to secret place. Crabcakes are ideal. In the summer the patio is nice and the in the winter the inside is cozy. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monocacy Crossing also viewed

 

Been to Monocacy Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monocacy Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.