We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food reasonably priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of a.k.a. Friscos

a.k.a. Friscos
4632 Wedgewood Blvd., Frederick, MD 21703
301-698-0018
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 364 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just an overall friendly place to eat. You must try their "exploding potatoes". They are to die for!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Baltimore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great if you have kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Found this place on trip advisor and decided to give it a go for a weekend family outing. My husband described the atmosphere as "if Trader Joe's were a restaurant", and that's a pretty accurate assessment. The kids' meals can't be beat, $3.25 for a giant plate of food, a bottle of juice and a cookie. The portions in general are enormous. I got a small cobb salad and it was easily two full meals for me. The food is nothing spectacular, though the exploded potatoes, their signature item, are pretty interesting. There are lots of vegetarian options, and even if you're vegan you could make do here. Honestly, if we didn't have kids with us, we probably wouldn't eat here. But for a family meal, it's a great place.

Helpful?
Thank perachdavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fast, good food in a laid back atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We found out about this restaurant from reviews and were impressed. It's very affordable, has great food and a good selection. Two of the best items on the menu are only available after 4pm though. Check out the unbeatable beer and wine shop adjoining the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It was good and a fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We tried this place based upon reviews. We found the food to be good, and the concept fun but the flow seemed awkward. The staff was very friendly and eager to help. If you have not been, read the menu online first because the one they have hanging has long descriptions and it can be overwhelming. Would try it again.


p.s. my husband said the mens room looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks.....that was his big turn off.....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClearBlueDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Value and Great Sandwiches !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a good sandwich in Frederick on a Friday afternoon. After reviewing the Tripadvisor listings, we decided to try Friscos. This was our 1st visit and we didn't know what to expect. We found a converted warehouse in an industrial park. It's not big on atmosphere but that's not what it's about. There is a large selection of specialty sandwiches, each with it's own lengthy description. You wait in line and order at the booth. The service was very good. I had the Potrero Hill which was excellent and only cost $8. My wife had the Presidio which she indicated was also excellent for $8. They were a great value for the money and we thoroughly enjoyed them. We plan to return many times and are very happy we found Friscos.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeinintegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a.k.a. Friscos also viewed

 

Been to a.k.a. Friscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing