We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Frederick

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Frederick to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Frederick
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Frederick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7300 Executive Way, Frederick, MD 21704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Frederick
ON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bed Bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Comfort Inn on August 25, 2012 on our way to Williamsburg. What a mistake! Room 216 had bed bugs in it. My daughters and a friend stayed in this room and were severely biten by the bugs. We didn't find out until after we had left. We spent over $300 in clinic fees and antibiotics. I contacted the hotel and was told that we had brought the bed bugs with us. Can you believe that? After several phone calls to the hotel and to head office, I received this email: "Please accept our apology for your incovenience." (The typo's theirs, not mine.) I contacted Choice Hotels head office again and they told me that each "property is independently owned and operated" and they "must defer to the hotel's response." DON'T STAY HERE - they don't care.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbaker7300, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Frederick, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
The results of the investigation by both the Hotel staff and the pest company was a to check the room in question and NO EVIDENCE OF ANY INFESTATION was found. Upon completion of the investigation the guest was called twice and informed of our policy and the outcome. Once a bedbug report is received the investigation is dealt with promptly and effectively by our staff and we call in experienced pest controllers, to check the room in question and treat the room and adjacent rooms to make sure there isn’t a problem. The keys to fending off bed bug infestations are knowledge, early detection and a proper remediation program we follow a strict protocol for reports of bed bugs at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
23
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Va
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The room was large, had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Appeared to be well kept and everything was very clean. The only downfall was the hot tub wasn't working. The pool was relaxing though. Good breakfast in the morning; yogurt, fruit, waffles, etc. Overall a good nights stay for a decent price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The front desk staff was courteous, but the hotel really fell short. The hotel looked older, and it wasn't very clean. The elevator floor was sticky, and the hall carpets were badly stained. The carpet in our room appeared to have been replaced recently. However, the furniture and linens were VERY worn (there were tiny holes in the blankets under the comforters on both beds, for example). The only high point for us was the location. The hotel is located right off of the highway, and across the street from a shopping center (which offered MANY places to eat). Unfortunately, we were disappointed overall, and expected much more for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was the place we stayed after a really bad experience with a hotel down the street. It was WONDERFUL! The staff was very helpful in getting us settled after that bad experience. The rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable. breakfast was yummy and plenty of it. I'm so glad we changed where we were staying and decided to stay there. THANK YOU SO MUCH.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Only stayed one night,but room was large, clean. Bathroom large as well and very clean. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19380
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was pleased with the room. My companion and I found it difficult to find a parking space at night, under a street lamp. On my first official day, I had to call housekeeping, it seems they forgot that the room was rented. But housekeeping did come within 30 minutes and gave me all that I asked for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We drove to this region of Maryland for a really needed weekend getaway. There were so many nice hotels to pick from in this region so I deliberated a great deal before picking this place, Comfort Inn at Frederick, MD. Wise decision. We paid less than $100 (total price plus taxes) and it felt like a good investment.

We discovered a very noisy barking dog in the room next to where first assigned us but after requesting another room, the few minutes of inconvenience was no big deal we were given a very nice 2nd or 3rd floor corner room on the other side of the building. Turned out great! We could not have asked for a better room. The Continental breakfast was typical but respectable, located at the center of the building. It was a very pleasant open space with a nice flat screen TV everyone could see while eating breakfast.

The thing we really enjoyed, it was a newer hotel! Cleaner, neat, efficient design, quality rooms, quiet, new flat screen tv's, excellent quiet heating/cooling system, good wi-fi, etc.

You also don't have to worry about what to do once you check in. If you are looking for places to eat or shop, check Google Maps, zoom in until you can see the plenty of names of nearby eating and shopping locations all a less than 3 mile range.

This hotel is located near the interstate, easy to find. You will have no problem finding it or navigating around the area, just be a little careful because the traffic can be a little hectic and the main streets are maybe 6 lanes wide.

There is even a nice Civil War place, Monocacy National Battlefield, located a few miles away that is worth the hour detour to check the visitors building and museum. Harpers Ferry, Antietam and other historical sights also not far away either.

All-in-all, we think you, too, would enjoy staying at this place too. No surprises here. We would stay at this place in the future if ever in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper corner room is always a good idea. Our room was next to a washer and dryer and tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Frederick

Address: 7300 Executive Way, Frederick, MD 21704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Frederick 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.