We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for your money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MDL Holiday Cinemas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
MDL Holiday Cinemas
Baugman's Lane, Frederick, MD
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Activities in Frederick
Type: Movie Theaters, Fun & Games
Attraction details
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best value for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I love this movie house. The staff is always friendly and I don't feel like I have been robbed every time I want to see a movie. There is even a special room to rent ,for not much money, if you want to do a party. I think it is geared for birthdays, but I night out with the girls might be really fun. This movie house also has special pricing on Tuesdays,almost half off the less than five dollars the normally charge. Really, who gives you that much value for your money this days!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“It is what it is (in a good way)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

You get what you pay for as the other reviewers have indicated. However, if you're willing to delay your instant "see a movie when it comes out" gratification, you can see big hits here for half the price. Then you get to go out for dinner and even go to Rita's Ice Cream in the same night without blowing a wad.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Goood and cheap movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you dom't like paying $11 to see a movie...this is the place to go. It is under $5, You don't feel ripped off. Nothing fancy. Just a few people who run the whole thing. You can usually have your choice of seats. They make their money from the snack stand which is still cheaper than the main stream theatre.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun and cheap entertainment for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Yes this place is a little run down but they are a locally owned family theater and have been around for a long time. If they had the money to spruce the place up they would have to raise their ticket prices. As is, the ticket prices have gone up a little bit so they can fund new digital movie projectors. That, in turn, heightens the quality of the movie viewing and isn't that what is most important?

They host $1 kid-friendly movies all summer long, plus discounted seats on certain mornings, year round. They have a good selection of second run movies, including all the big name stuff like Disney/Pixar. But they have other movies as well, not just kid ones. They have two screens so two movies are shown at once. During the day it is typically two kid movies. Later in the afternoon/evening it is generally two grown up movies.

The food is typical movie theater food and a little expensive for what you get. But the kid's pack is a favorite for us. For less than $4 your child gets a fountain drink, a kid size portion of popcorn and a candy (usually Air Heads taffy). If you go during the $1 summer movies then it's less than $5 for the kid's snack pack and movie ticket combined. Not a bad deal for a couple hours of air conditioned entertainment! They also have a couple of arcade games to play after the movie is let out, so take your quarters!

Bathrooms are....in need of updating. That's all I'll say about that.

With first run movie prices becoming ridiculously high I'm glad we have the option of enjoying movies here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Run down but inexpensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I live only a mile away from this theater and used to like it years ago. The last time I went about a month ago, I was surprised to find it in very poor condition. The seats are very old and not very comfortable, you can feel the springs. The movie stopped at a critical moment due to some problem with the projector and it took about 5 minutes for them to get it going again. However the worse thing about the the place is the restrooms. The men's room was the worse I have ever seen. The stalls were completely rusted, so there is no way they could clean them or they would fall apart; I wouldn't be surprised if your hand would go through them if you leaned on them. Of course the restroom smelled as if it hadn't been cleaned for a long time. If you should decide to go there be sure to use the restroom before going and don't get any drinks. I also wonder about the food sold there, since people always say you can judge a restaurant by its restrooms. I would wait a week or two and watch the movie on pay per view or DVD.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MDL Holiday Cinemas also viewed

 

Been to MDL Holiday Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MDL Holiday Cinemas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.