We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BANGIN LIKE A BISCUIT!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sardis

Sardis
50 N McCain Dr, Frederick, MD 21702
301-620-7717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 318 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian, South American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“BANGIN LIKE A BISCUIT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

One of the best Peruvian Chicken I've ever had. It's awesome!! Their Ceviche is also a step above. I've never had something there I didn't like! I recently tried one of their specials that was a Beef dish served with pinto beans in a pea and beer sauce....bangin!!! The people working there are pretty cool and they serve good and plentiful portions!! There was another Peruvian chicken place before and never got business but they moved in and they are often busy. Fast service, bangin food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best rotisserie chicken in Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This little hole in the wall is a hidden gem. Don't let the outside or the surroundings deter you from trying this place out. Menu selections are plentiful and portions are huge. The chicken is melt in your mouth cooked to perfection. The chicken gyro is packed full of meat and great flavors. The ultimate mix grill is enough food for two adults to share. They are quick and efficient. Definitely worth taking the time to try this place out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Chicken in Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you are in the mood for chicken and happen to be in Frederick, Sardis is hands-down the place for you. The quick service and great options for sides are the perfect complement to the perfectly cooked bird! The jalapeño sauce (one of three options) is my favorite side sauce to go with the chicken. Be sure to grab a slice of deliciously moist tres leches cake for desert. Do not pass this place up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We fell in love with their food and have been back several times. As others have said there isn't a lot in ambiance, but the service, food and portions are outstanding. We order carryout and generally get 1 whole chicken, Rice & Beans, Fried Plantain and Arroz Chaufa (Peruvian fried rice). The chicken is moist and very flavorful on its own, but they also give you little containers of sauce that varies from mild to very hot. Delicious!
We get 5 servings from their generous portions. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“So much more than just chicken!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this place. A co-worker of mine is from Peru and he took me one day for a working lunch to this hole-in-the-wall hidden gem. The rotisserie chicken smelled heavenly, but as I am not one for chicken on a bone but always up to try new foods, I was greatly surprised to find a large menu of Peruvian favorites. I ordered the Lomo Saltado (steak with onions, peppers, tomatoes, rice and french fries) and have never looked back. He ordered the same and assured me that it was as good as anything his family makes at home! They offer a variety of sides and they don't skimp on the portions. The fried plantains are one of my favorites and they are always fried just right to the point of caramelization. The salchipapas (cut up hot dogs and french fries) is a Peruvian street food that is just comforting. Another friend of mine is married to a Peruvian and prides herself on her Huacaina sauce (a yellow sauce made with peppers and queso blanco) and she even gave theirs her stamp of approval (but of course it's not as good as hers :) This sauce is usually served over potatoes and although it is not on their menu they were happy to make it for us. I moved away from Frederick a few years ago, but I have driven hours to go back and to eat at Sardi's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardis also viewed

 

Been to Sardis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sardis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.