We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - you won't be disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bueno

Cafe Bueno
503 North East Street, Frederick, MD
+1 301-620-8858
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 327 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe Bueno is located at the intersection of East and 5th Streets. We are located in the same center as 7-11, about 3 blocks north of Shab Row. There is plenty of free parking in our large front lot.Cafe Bueno serves authentic Mexican food, and yes, we are the real deal! We have ten different kinds of tacos! A few highlights are our hand-breaded fish tacos, topped with radishes, cabbage, and served with cilantro salsa on the side, or tacos al pastor, which is a combination of spicy marinated pork and pineapple, served on a soft corn tortilla and topped with onions, cilantro, and fresh lime. Our salsa verde and salsa roja hot sauces are freshly made in-house of genuine Mexican ingredients, including tomatillos, jalapenos, guajillo chiles and chile de arbol. Our meats are all hand-cut, marinaded to perfection, and served on tacos or on a massive torta sandwich. The infamous torta cubana is not to be missed - a combination of steak, spicy pork, ham, hot dog, egg, lettuce, tomato, mayo, onion, jalapeno, and avocado. We serve Mexican breakfasts all day, including huevos rancheros, huevos con chorizo (our chorizo is made fresh in-house, of course!) And we serve all the American classics, like eggs, homefries, pancakes, and french toast, until 11am. We also have daily specials showcasing other authentic Mexican dishes, such as sopes, huaraches, carne asada, chile rellenos, mole enchiladas, carnitas, and much more!
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food - you won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place is tucked away between a 7-11 and laundromat, but don't let its location keep you away. The food is very good and the owner helpful and friendly. I had the fish tacos the last time and it was done just right. The chicken and chorizo tacos (Mexican style with corn tortillas) and the spicy pork burritos are also great. Besides the great food at low prices, several features make CB very different from other Mexican-style restaurants in Frederick. While the serving sizes are generous, they don't have the huge slop of not-so-hot refried beans/cheap cheese/lame rice that seem to take over the meals at some places. Something as simple as making exceptionally good salsa also helps CB stand out. Any downers? The place has table seating for less than 30 so once people hear about it, getting a table may require a wait in the near future. Some folks have already solved this problem by eating their lunches in their vehicles in the parking lot.
Have a great meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went in for lunch on a Saturday afternoon--there were plenty of folks waiting for their carryout order, several of them Hispanic which is probably a good sign. The small restaurant is equally a carryout as it is a casual sit down meal.

The space is surprisingly light and bright, nicely decorated with pretty tile tables. Even though there are a small amount of tables, we did not feel awkward by choosing to eat in. Seat yourself, no pomp and circumstance. Perfect.

We ordered the fish tacos, a chicken burrito with salsa verde and chicken & cheese quesadilas. The drinks were a good variety, fountain sodas too, always a plus. I don't think they serve alcohol though. Everything ordered was delicious. Tasty and fresh. Would like to see the fish tacos with grilled fish as an option in addition to the fried fish (maybe it is since we didn't inquire). The portion sizes were perfect and ample. We did leave with some leftovers. We were too full to order any dessert.

It's great to support the smaller, non-chain restaurants. When they have fantastic food, it is a home-run all the way around. Looking forward to more meals from Cafe Bueno. Yum-O.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank AKUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Gem in Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a tiny little Mexican restaurant in a small strip mall that many Frederick residents don't even know exists. It's in a weird part of town that people probably don't drive by much (East Street & 5th St. near 7-11) It's a very clean, very small, very good restaurant with very friendly service. I had the chicken & chorizo burrito. My burrito was excellent as well as the salsa verde on top. It was a little expensive for lunch $9 (no separate lunch menu). Beans were great rice was good. Could have used a little more shredded lettuce and pico but they brought more when I asked. Service was great and very friendly. I only found out about their existence because I was looking for another restaurant online. GREAT FIND!!! I think their only issue is they're in a decent lunch spot but they cost as much or more than some "fancier" (not better!) Mexican restaurants that offer a better value for lunch. So, great food, weird location, good dinner prices, a little pricy for lunch, excellent service, very clean restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank billykeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is real Mexican food, not the over cheesy, over sauced bland American interpretation of Mexican food. I frequently get the chicken and chorizo burrito. This is an over stufed burrito with salsa verde and it is fantastic! The chorizo is homemade and perfect. I'm not a huge fan of the sides of rice and beans. The beans are too watery and bland. The rice is cooked right, but has an odd flavor. This may be a small place, but it has a big heart and big flavors. i will keep going back and I recommend you check it out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've been coming to Cafe Bueno regularly since it opened a few months ago and I have always been pleased with both the food and the service. The new owner has substantially renovated the space and everything is now much cleaner and brighter than before. They offer a number of great Mexican specialties, including tortas, tacos, and fajitas. They also offer a few American style sandwiches as well. The ingredients always taste fresh and the sauces are fantastic. It's a good location to drop in for a quick lunch or a takeout order. The owner and staff are all very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank Travis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bueno also viewed


Been to Cafe Bueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing