We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blueberry Ice Cream and Red Wine? Youbetcha!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayse Meze

Ayse Meze
6 N. East Street, Frederick, MD 21701
240 651 5155
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ayse Meze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 319 restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Lebanese, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Patrick and North East
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Blueberry Ice Cream and Red Wine? Youbetcha!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

A great restaurant both for its food and energy! The meze/tapas lend themselves to sharing and culinary exploration. Looking around, everyone is trying new flavors and foods. Try the spread sampler, it offers a selection of the familar (humus) and unfamilar (genlik zaytin) and fresh deliciously seasoned bread to dip. Go for the saganaki - the presentation is great and it's delish! The calamari is amazing as are the vert rich lobster nachos! And, don't miss the brussel sprounts - I hated these little cabbages until I tried these. The Turkish wines are wonderful. We had one that drank well with dinner and was sublime with the homemade blueberry ice cream --- REALLY!!! Service is generally good but not great. Don't be shy about flagging your server down fro another small plate or two. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    91
    22
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We started with a pomegranate mimosa and a Kolch. Both very good. Then out came our tapas. First the Saganki or Flaming cheese. Very dramatic. Cooked right in front of you to a nice melted consistency. Then the brukel lahanasi or delicious Brussel sprouts. The spanakopita seemed very fresh and had a tasty yogurt sauce. The Best part of the meal was the Adana. It was a tasty ground lamb skewer. It has another tasty yogurt sauce. I would probably skip the hunkar beggendi or lamb stew. Too full for dessert.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went here for my mother's birthday dinner and ended up just in awe of the food! The place is very cool looking, and the outside patio looks like it would be divine in the summer. The waiter was very attentive and helpful. We ordered a ton of dishes and everything was just fantastic. Service was really good and the food is the star of this restaurant. Definitely the most fun and memorable birthday dinner yet! I plan on coming back here as much as possible!!

Fan favorites from our dinner: brussel sprouts, veal sweetbreads, fried calamari, the hummus sampler, seared sea scallops, beet salad, beef filet... everything was tender, delicious and just so wonderful! Great pairings for the ingredients of the dishes, and the flavors were just out of this world good. Seriously cannot say enough good things about this restaurant! Go here, you will not regret it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, service, price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a new favorite for us. Went here last night, and not having much experience with Greek fare, asked the waitress for her recommendations, and everything was very good. This is a great place for 2 or 4. I can see why it is getting great reviews. We will make this a regular stop.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Tapas, Middle Eastern style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Perfectly prepared sharable dishes! A little costly. A great place for a date. You MUST have the brussel sprouts! I know the picture I took of them isnt that appealing but I am telling you...omg. The scallops were very good but at about $6 per scallop I will try something else next time. The moussaka was very good as well. Nest time I will get a double order of brussel sprouts and the lamb stew. You must try this place! Think Greek, Turkish, Lebanese type food. If my review is helpful please click YES! Thank you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayse Meze also viewed

 

Been to Ayse Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayse Meze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.