We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayse Meze

Ayse Meze
Shab Row East Street, Frederick, MD 21701
240 651 5155
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ayse Meze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 339 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Lebanese, Turkish, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Patrick and North East
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stopped for a coworkers going away party and was surprised how nice the atmosphere was. The appetizers and drinks were good too. I loved the outdoor dining area and the music that was playing was perfect. I plan to return for a full meal in the very near future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    54
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hurray! A restaurant in Frederick to love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I've lived in the area for almost 2 years and have been very dissappointed with local food- until now! Terrific mezza, reasonably priced. Pleasant atmosphere, terrific waiter. Lots of vegetarian options. Full bar, decent beer selection. Hold the door open, I'm coming back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visited this wonderful restaurant again for lunch. Awesome specials and delicious food. My wife and I just love this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, md
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Generally Enjoyable, Last Night Was a Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoy Ayse Meze. The menu is terrific and varied. The cheese flambe is unique and very delicious. This summer we have dined on the patio and listened to live music -- definitely a treat in downtown Frederick.

Last night we went for dessert. The restaurant was very busy. The waitress ignored us and made up excuses, including blaming the kitchen, for taking an hour to get us ice cream and cake for four people. The wait staff kept bringing us dishes we did not order. They need to get their act together.

We will be back next weekend. The wait staff is generally very attentive and last night was an exception (we hope!).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Outstanding - Variety of Unusual Flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Thanks go to my friends who, based on their previous visits, brought me here. I now know the answer to the question "How do you turn brussel sprouts into a memorable highlight?" Answer: eat here. The brüksel lahanası elevated a routine side dish into a flavor packed interesting and memorable dining choose; for $8.00. This success was repeated over and over as the ten of us dined on meze portions on a Wednesday evening in the large and formally furnished dining room. The preparation and flavors all seemed to have creative twists.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayse Meze also viewed

 

Been to Ayse Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayse Meze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.