We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous restaurant indeed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayse Meze

Ayse Meze
6 N. East Street, Frederick, MD 21701
240 651 5155
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ayse Meze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 320 restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Lebanese, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Patrick and North East
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A fabulous restaurant indeed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I just ate at Ayse to celebrate our anniversary. It was a joy from start to finish. The decor is lovely, the staff are so friendly and welcoming and attentive, and the food was incredible. We tried a variety of items and there was not one thing that was not superbly made. I highly recommend Ayse. It made our night out very special indeed. We will be returning there in the future for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    97
    22
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic meal with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The food was excellent and timed perfectly, service was great, and it was very reasonable. We went with a large group of friends for a birthday celebration and it was the perfect choice. Will definitely be returning!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“it's ok - but #1 in Frederick???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent layout and decor. Outdoor patio seating is very nice. Service extremely slow and erratic, eg we sat and waited about 15 min's for anything,,, water, drink orders etc. There were 5 of us & when entrees came we got 4 plates, and then waited like 10 min's or so for the 5th one - then my friend's wife had to remind our server 2 or 3x for her second glass of vino. Busy night you will say? No, the restaurant was less than half-full. Having been to Turkey twice and travelled throughout Greece, Israel and Jordan, it's clear to me that the warmth, succulence and spice of the Mediterranean is not present here. {I have to be careful, cuz our good friends treated us, and we had a very nice time together, but honestly, IMHO, Ayse doesn't deserve all of the accolades of other reviewers.}

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wonderful food, great way to dine with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I were on a business trip to the East Coast and friends who live in Frederick invited us to meet them at Ayse. What a fun experience! We began with a dip sampler served on a stunning translucent glass plate. Six different dips -- all good -- with rectangular crackers and bread provided for dipping. We followed that with an excellent cheese which is flamed in a dramatic fashion at your table. What I especially enjoyed is that this type of dining really provides a wonderful way to visit with friends. Rather than having a larger meal brought all at once, you get to visit as small bites are continuously served. My husband and I are both vegetarian and we had no problems finding plenty of dining options. Our friends snagged one of the best tables, too, at a window that included cushioned bench seating augmented with colorful and comfortable pillows. For dessert, we ordered pistachio ice cream and pomegranate sorbet. Both were excellent.
This was a relaxed and exotic dining experience that I highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Flavor & Decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were greeted from the moment we entered the restaurant. The service was suburb. Our waitress was delightful and helpful at all times. We loved the food and the variety of choices.
It made Mother's Day all the more wonderful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayse Meze also viewed

 

Been to Ayse Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayse Meze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.