We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great restaurant in Frederick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayse Meze

Ayse Meze
Shab Row East Street, Frederick, MD 21701
12406515155
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ayse Meze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 364 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek, Middle Eastern, Lebanese, European, Spanish, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Patrick and North East
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great restaurant in Frederick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have been to Ayse Meze several times now and each time I have experienced high quality food and service. The food is served Meze style (small portions) which arrive rapid fire and occasionally " on fire " like the flaming cheese (highly recommend!). Although Mediterranean is the advertised cuisine most dishes arrive with the unmistakable influence of Turkish spices and twists. this is not a bad thing. whats good? everything pretty much...with the exception of the clams casino. not a fan. try the brussel sprouts, skewers and marinated olives and get adventurius from there. you wont go wrong. The restaurant has modified its wine selection (for the better) and there are good quality wines for reasonable prices. It's fun, nice casual and the staff is very welcoming and accommodating. Patio is a great place to listen to music enjoy a cocktail and unwind. Another great addition to the doing scene in downtown Frederick!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunner927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
WV
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome! Wish a splash of "the service could just be tweaked a bit".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We forget about Frederick....We live in Harpers Ferry and I work in Winchester. We just do not go in that direction very often. This evening, we checked "Trip Advisor" and went with the top pick. The service, a 4 out of 5, could ride on the coat tails of the food; a 5. Having been a server, I imagine Tapas would be challenging. It was FINE but a little slow with the drinks and we were waiting for the pita a bit. I think it will work itself out, in time. Flaming cheese; awesome. Dips, awesome. Baklava, incredible. I think if you are encouraging a family dining atmosphere, get the kid order, keep bringing bread and POOF, all is well. We will be back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chicwhorips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“yummy food, fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

food is served tappas style, with everyone at the table sharing small plates. there are no entree sized servings. so if sharing is not your thing, might want to pass.

the food was excellent, interesting combinations, all very good. i liked that our waiter, knowing it was our first time there, gave explanations of what was what, and had great recommendations.

only negative is that the place has really bad acoustics, with lots of glass and tile. it was hard for our table of five to hear one another above the noise of the place. and although we liked the food, we probably won't go back b/c of the environment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank airowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijamsville
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A beautiful dining experience all the way around. Highly recommend the scallops and roasted brussel sprouts. Our waitress, Lauren, was awesome. We will be back, very soon!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesapeake
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A caress of scented bouquet. Dine on ambrosia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is what dining out should be. Ayse Meze offers the diner distinctive décor, tantalizing taste, service with a smile.

We selected a window table overlooking the courtyard. Thus we had the splay of golden natural light without the cooling breeze.

Our starter was tzatziki- pleasingly piquant. Next was succulent halibut, followed by tangy BBQ clams (deniz taragi) The lauded bruksel lahanasl rounded out the flavorful feast. The wine list is just as varied, offering an Israeli Chardonnay that pleases the palette and eye.

Find passage to this Turkish haven. This is a jewel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helios5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayse Meze also viewed

 

Been to Ayse Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing