We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayse Meze

Ayse Meze
Shab Row East Street, Frederick, MD 21701
240 651 5155
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ayse Meze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 333 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Lebanese, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Patrick and North East
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The ambiance and food at this restaurant are excellent. The service was fantastic. The wine list is unique and affordable! I had lunch here with friends and a big dinner party the following week here and both meals were fantastic. The small plates are great as well as the burger and fries. There is something for everyone here! The brussel sprouts are amazing!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    47
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Wonderful new mediterranean restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Frederick has a new restaurant that is worth boasting about! Delilcious small plates to share, lots of vegetarian options, and nice atmosphere. Great location in downtown
Frederick.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“First visit to Ayse Meze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Walking into Ayse Meze for the first time was like a breath of fresh air. The whole space just had a light and airy feel and the sunflower on each table was a nice touch. This was my first visit but I cannot wait to return. We started with a spread sampler which was a tasting of all 6 spreads that they offer. My favorites on the sampler were the Tzatziki, Gemlik Zeytin (a black olive spread similiar to a tapenade) and Pasa Ezmesi. Next we had the Saganaki which was a flaming cheese. I really enjoyed this dish but there was 3 of us so it was a bit of a stretch for us all to share so I would suggest if you have more than 3 people that you order more than one. We also enjoyed the sea scallops (Xtema) and wished we had placed 2 orders instead of one. The souvalki was also really good and the lamb was cooked perfectly. We ordered the house mix olives which we also enjoyed but they are a little on the spicy side. We did not do quite as well on picking desserts, we tried the Keskul (almond milk pudding) & the cookies- they weren't bad it just didn't really bring it home for me. I did however enjoy the turkish coffee. Next time I'm going to try one of the ice cream/sorbets. Service was great, prices were reasonable and I look forward to many more delicious meals in the future at Ayse Meze.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ethnic Fine Dining- A Frederick First”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Despite being a dining destination- Frederick has been a cultural desert- when it comes to global cuisine. Finally, we have something to crow about - with Nezih Pistar's ode to his heritage- Ayse. With a clean renovation of the aging Danielle's and a cool vibe- the new space seems born again. For a new establishment- food came quickly and service was quick to apologize for any opening gaffs. The bar seemed spruced up, but it was the dining space that was the most striking- with an inspired and lengthy menu - with most being excellent. The dining space lighting was less inspired- too bright to feel intimate. Regardless, required dining for those near or far.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayse Meze also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Ayse Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayse Meze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.