We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gladchuk Bros.

Gladchuk Bros.
489 West Patrick St., Frederick, MD
301-662-7750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 339 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montgomery County, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was our first visit and it was wonderful. The food, service and atmosphere where perfect. This is a great place to celebrate an anniversary and we plan to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So much better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We went on a Wednesday evening, no wait. Staff was extremely friendly, knowledgable, and attentive. They did warn us that weekends are much busier. Dinner and dessert was wonderful! Cozy atmosphere. Absolutely will return!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“20 minute wait for the check (3 out of 5)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

From outside, this restaurant has always had a sort of cozy appeal to it, especially in the wintry snowy months. It's festive looking and makes me think of a cottage in some small European village. However, inside is another story. Everything seemed to make the place feel so old and outdated. Even the customers inside were all elderly until the very end of our meal when new folks started filing in. It just seemed like a place that grandmothers and grandfathers go to eat lunch and drink their tea.

I ordered the Fried Oysters ($14.95) for my lunch entree. It came with bread rolls, mashed potatoes, and some vegetables. I also received a small cup of cocktail sauce to dip my oysters in. These were merely mediocre in taste for me. I've had better elsewhere, but they weren't bad or anything.

The service had been really good for our entire time there until we were finished and asked for the check. We must have waited 20 minutes for our server to bring us the check. He apologized as he explained he had to wait on it from someone else (not sure what that was about). Anyway, inexcusable. It's 50/50 whether I return here someday.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great evening meal was enjoyed by our party. It was our first visit and won't be the last! We were treated wery well by the wait staff and the all the entries were very tasty. The Eclairs were to die for!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“A nice local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We decided to give this restaurant a try after seeing it while driving by on previous occasions. We made a reservation for dinner on a weekend evening. The restaurant is very busy and we still had to wait quite a bit before being seated. The dining room is relatively small and tables are fairly close together. The noise level also got a little high when all the tables were full. As the evening went on, it did get a bit quieter as some tables emptied out.
Our server was professional and the food was very good. We both ordered the salmon but our server returned and reported that only one remained. I had the Mediterranean Dinner instead. Both were excellent. There is also a small bar. Beers are available for dinner but only by the bottle.We shared a mint chocolate chip ice cream pie for dessert - wonderful!
All in all, a nice local restaurant with good food and excellent service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladchuk Bros. also viewed

Frederick, MD
 

Been to Gladchuk Bros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gladchuk Bros., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.