We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive, good food and service, nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House

JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House
16 E. Patrick Street, Frederick, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 321 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: No Cross Street
New Market, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impressive, good food and service, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had dinner at JoJo's recently. We sat in the dining room. Got a table right away and server came right by for drink order. He was knowledgeable about the beers, but honest about those he hadn't tasted yet. We enjoyed a couple of seasonal craft beers and one in our party had a tasty pumpkin martini. Food was delicious. The reviews about the prime rib sandwich are spot on. It is awesome. Started with crab fritters, very good and more than enough for the 3 of us. Others in the party had the "hot" hamburger with several chili's - said it was very good and one had the filet mignon. Cooked perfectly. Stopped by the bar on the way out and it was lively and fun. It has a big city feel, but with the small town welcoming atmosphere. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

First of all, the place is a HUGE improvement over what used to be there, Patricks Pub and Anne's Steakhouse. First impressions are the most important and JoJo's did not disappoint. I went with two friends and we went on a busy Friday evening but you wouldn't have known it with the service that was provided by our server (we cannot remember his name but he was tall with blonde hair, very personable). We felt as if we were his only table and catered to our every want and need quickly. We started with the baked crab rolls and the spring rolls(4 rolls per serving each) and they both were nicely flavored but not too heavy serving as a great appetizer. I had the eight ounce filet, medium rare, and my friends had the rib eye sandwich and a special which was a grilled chicken glazed in a maple habanero sauce. We all LOVED our individual meals and ended up eating off each others plates for the duration of our meal. Once we had finished our meal, the server provided us with his quite elaborate and emphatic description of the exploding s'more and we were instantly sold. The dessert did not disappoint either. It came exactly as described and the taste was exquisite. Our total bill for the three of us was just short of $80 (including three cocktails).

Our overall experience was amazing and that was just the dining room! Afterwards, we walked to the bar where we enjoyed an exciting and lively atmosphere. For the sports enthusiasts, there are three televisions which were constantly tuned into some sports game for the duration we were there, mainly baseball. There twenty beers on tap and just the look of some of the taps are fun to look at on their own. There are Miller Lite and Yuengling, but after that there are 18 craft beers on draft, many from local breweries such as Flying Dog and Evolution. The service was speedy as there were three bartenders working and they were all extremely personable.

Overall, our experience was just about perfect. For a new restaurant in an already extremely competitive area with restaurants all up and down the famed Market Street, JoJo's put their stamp on downtown Frederick, I highly suggest you go in, I know i'll be going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
“Awesome food and great beer selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

JoJo's is a place to check out! They have only been open a few weeks and I've gone back numerous times. They have a great selection of 20 beers on tap and a great happy hour specials. I've tried many things on the menu from the appetizers (crab fritters and pork belly tacos) and dinners (Blackened Haddock and Burgers). I would highly recommend you check out this up and coming restaurant in Frederick! It's become my new favorite bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickerson, Maryland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great beers & good food! Looking forward to beer dinners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Tried this place after having enjoyed the chef's former restaurant, Roasthouse Pub. Many of the same elements are repeated here with the addition of a more formal dining room. Pork Belly taco appetizer is quite good and filling. 20 beers on tap. 10% discount on food for military, but it's not listed anywhere; you have to ask. Southern Tier beer dinner coming up on 10/29/2012.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“On the local's list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

JoJo's is a definitve hit. A large selection of beers on tap. The food is great. The pork belly tacos are superb. The bar help is great with good service! They have a great happy hour menu and JoJo is great. The local's have put this place on their list !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House also viewed

 

Been to JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.