We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful space in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baker Park

Baker Park
121 N. Bentz St., Frederick, MD 21701
301 600-1492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Frederick
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Clarksburg, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful space in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We often go there just to walk the length of the park. We will stop and look at the creek, watching for fish, maybe talk to passersby or someone fishing. There are birds chirping, families playing, people running, walking riding bikes.
Recently we took a walk and on our way back found that there was a trio singing at the Baker Park band shell. We sat on a bench under a tree and just listened. It was a nice way to end our walk.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    17
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland, Usa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice place to walk or to take some pictures.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place goes crazy on the 4th of July since this is where the city of Frederick puts on its fireworks display. there are also events scheduled once in a while that are always fun.
Most of the time, this is just a great place to walk and relax. The park has lots a paths, water features and is surrounded by stately, well-kept homes.
Bring a camera especially since there is a covered footbridge that begs to have its picture taken - hopefully with you in the picture, too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

While visiting Frederick for a couple days, this park was a wonderful place to get out and walk my dog. The park has great a great walking trail that connect to Sandy creek park in the downtown area. I felt it was safe and it was scenic. Very nice

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worth a Stroll or a Run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have lived here since 1997 and go out of my way to spend time at Baker Park. I like to take runs here to add variety to my routine. It's so easy to do! Just park your car near the Talley Rec Center (for free!) and wind your way around the park. There are tons of different ways to create 20-50 minutes runs. One thing I would suggest is that the City of Frederick consider making/providing a map of the park with different suggested running routes with mileage so that runners can follow them. Walk your dog, see the fireworks on the Fourth of July, see family concerts, attend festivals; I have done all of this at Baker Park. It always feels like Frederick deserves to be voted one of the best places to live in America!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place To Take The Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My grandkids and I just went to Baker Park for the first time this weekend and had a blast! The park is very clean, pet friendly, and has lots to do. The band shell is great for live music and the kids LOVED the playground! The fountain at night was absolutely beautiful and the neighborhood seemed reasonably safe. Definitely a fun place to go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker Park also viewed

 

Been to Baker Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.