We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crispy Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coal Fire Pizza

Coal Fire Pizza
7820 Wormans Mill Road, Frederick, MD
(301) 631-2625
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 320 restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Opened within the last six months.
Restaurant details
Description: Opened within the last six months.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Crispy Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I usually don't like thin crusty pizza but Coal Fire's was crispy and I liked it very much. I had there signature sauce which was just slightly sweet and very tasty. I will go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    2
    6
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Meh.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We've been to Coal Fire a few times, even taking guests on one of those visits because they wanted to try it. But I have yet to be impressed. The service is not that great. The pizza is not that great. The subs are decent but there are better places to get subs. The kid's menu is just odd. Fries are good. But with so many great pizza and sandwich places in Frederick I won't be making another trip to Coal Fire. There are just places I like much much better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“pizza is nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have only eaten there once and it was so bad, I will not be back. They had a huge number of waitstaff and other bored-looking people hanging around with not much to do. The pizza was disappointing. There are far better pizzas to be had in Frederick (e.g. Brewer's Alley, Ilforno, Pizza Blitz, etc etc - even Lido's).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Their pizza is delicious. It is coal-fired so the crust is thin and very crispy. The sauce is different from most pizzas. We tend to get the signature sauce which is a little sweeter. I've had the spicy sauce in the past. While it is somewhat spicy, it tends to kick in later but it's not an unbearable spicy. Service is usually very good and attentive. Very nice food and experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food was not what we expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

People rave about this place but I just don't get it. The wings were pretty terrible. To be fair, our server did warn us before we ordered that the wings are dry rubbed, grilled, and served with onions. Fair enough. When we got the wings, they had very little seasoning or flavor (where was the dry rub?). They don't come with any kind of dipping sauce. I used my salad dressing and that was ok. I don't mind that the wings were not traditional, but they were just bland. My Greek salad was not what I had expected either. The dressing was a creamy dairy-based mixture and not the oil and vinegar base I was hoping for. They did have oil and vinegar available, so I just used that. The service was pretty good. The pizza looked excellent. However, if you do not plan on orderig pizza, you will be disappointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coal Fire Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coal Fire Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.