We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Japanese in Frederick, MD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matsutake Sushi & Steak

Matsutake Sushi & Steak
5225 Buckeystown Pike, Westview Promenade, Frederick, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Matsutake Sushi & Steak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 316 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Crestwood
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Japanese in Frederick, MD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was out on a date night and my beau insisted on this restaurant. Neither of us had dined here before, but boy, were we "happy campers" afterwards! The menu (inviting and varied), the food and drinks (absolutely yummy), the service (fun and efficient), the atmosphere (clean and romantic (we had a table all to ourselves), but not smothering) and the value appropriate. We had the flaming volcano (drink). Liked it. He had steak and scallops w/a few shrimp . I had chicken and scallops w/a few shrimp. And veggies and rice. I enjoyed my meal, but he was absolutely over the top pleased. If we're ever in this area again, Matsutake is a must for us!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wow! all you can eat sushi and such fro lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a great place to go and fill up on sushi and other types of Japanese food. Especially great if you are just getting into Japanese food because you can try so many different types.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Really good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Sushi was surprisingly good. Better than average. Average price. Better than average service. The place was clean, so were the restrooms. I would definitely try this place again if in the area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Love this place, great sushi and lunch buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place has excellent tasting sushi at an average price (not too $ but there are cheaper places in the Frederick area). However, their lunch buffet is awesome, especially if you eat a lot of sushi! I definitely recommend this place. It is also conveniently located right by the movie theater for date nights :).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I went there with a group related to business. The sushi was reasonable, but nothing exceptional. Too much spicy sauce on one order of sushi. The service was good. They handled our group well, and made sure everyone was well taken care of, including separate checks for a party of about 16.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsutake Sushi & Steak also viewed

 

Been to Matsutake Sushi & Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsutake Sushi & Steak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.