We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Drop In” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Bar & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Canal Bar & Grill
49 S Market St, Frederick, MD 21701
(301) 620-9898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 327 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Place to Drop In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good place to drop in for a drink and a meal. Very friendly staff. Was most impressed to see a staff member using American sign language to take orders from deaf patrons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a simple place that serves a wide variety of food. I went on HH and Steak night. It was a great value! The drinks pours are strong!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myersville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food, Laid back atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to try Canal Grill after reading a favorable review and we were not disappointed. We had Quesadilla as our appetizer and is pretty good. We both had salads and we loved the homemade Honey Mustard. It almost tasted like the great homemade Honey Mustard at Houston's Restaurant (if you have ever had it there). The waitress was pretty good even though she was one only waitress that day (and really pretty too). The grilled chicken was very tasty and cooked perfectly. I can't wait to try out more items. It's not a very big restaurant, but it has a quaint, cozy atmosphere. I definitely recommend this place for lunch, dinner, or just some drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Wings & Burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

35 Cent wings on Thursdays and $5 Burgers on Wednesdays...my husband is salivating! The salads were great too...try the Bob Cobb's Salad, delicious! Small establishment and friendly service...the kind of place that you can feel at home at quickly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I live nearby and go there all the time. Very friendly people and very good food. Fresh salads, good wings, good beer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Canal Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.