We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice taste of Havana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sabor de Cuba

Sabor de Cuba
9 East Patrick Street, Frederick, MD 21701
301-663-1036
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sabor de Cuba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 320 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. Market St.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice taste of Havana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Don't miss this place. The food is more than good. They do the best Mojito in town and have a reasonably stocked bar. Last time we were their with 6 people and tried most of the appetizers and were over the moon.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am picky about my food so I am typically afraid to try food that is "out of the ordinary" for my palate. I went to Sabor de Cuba with a group of friends and was pleasantly surprised.

The food was very tasty, not too spicy, not too 'out of the ordinary' for me.

The wait staff is very friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Enjoyed new find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Had no idea we had Cuban so close! Papas rellenas were good, as was Bistec Palomillo. I hear the Ropa Vieja was as well. Generous portions and love that the wines were all around $25/bottle, just a few choices which is all we needed. Made reservations but weren't necessary, but I hope they stay around and someday that they are! Server was fabulous but not overly in our way at all, greeted by all staff and thanked by all. Will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's amazing how black beans and rice can taste so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I lived in Tampa for more than 20 years and have enjoyed eating Cuban and Latin American food there. I am happy to know that there is a restaurant near my area that has great Cuban food. The atmosphere is nice with a touch of the tropical and the staff are friendly. The Mojito was the best I have ever tasted with lots of fresh mint. I had the fresh pargo (red snapper) grilled and it was excellent. My husband had the Cuban sandwich which was big enough to split and quite tasty. The sweet plantains were my favorite. I will definitely be returning to this restaurant when I am in Frederick. Don't forget to try the flan de coco and a café con leche, definitely worth it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Like Mom (Mother-in-Law) used to make!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very Authentic food! My wife's family is from Cuba and Peru, so we have been lucky enough to enjoy many home cooked meals, and Sabor De Cuba is the real thing. The stuffed Tostones (Tostones rellenos de carne) are a terrific app, the fried Yuca is a must have side dish with any meal. The Ropa Vieja and the Pernil were fabulous. We will be back again and again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor de Cuba also viewed

 

Been to Sabor de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabor de Cuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.