We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   998 West Patrick Street, Frederick, MD 21703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed in late May. Firstly the good points. It's situated on the main road so is convenient for access to the sights of Frederick. I wasn't disturbed by the traffic, despite having a road-facing ground floor (or, as the Americans would say, first floor) room. The room was quite nice. It had all the amenities you would expect. The wifi worked well; the exercise room was fine.

Now the bad points. It seemed as though every construction worker in eternity was staying there. The car park was full of trucks and the place was a sea of hi vis workwear! I'd like to comment on the breakfast but, when I arrived at 08:45, the place had been cleared (by the construction crews) and it became fairly obvious that the hotel had no intention of replenishing the stock. A cup of coffee and a meagre portion of cereal later, I departed.

Overall, a passable hotel. From my personal opinion, I preferred the Sleep in over by the mall. It's quieter, as well appointed and there are breakfast items available to the end of breakfast, for about the same price!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
8
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deltaville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a most convenient place to stay. The steak house next door is excellent and tie-ins with all the major roads in and out of Frederick are nearby. The staff is friendly and helpful. We arrived early and they located a clean room for us right away, although the hotel had been full the night before. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was excellent. Although it isn't a new hotel, it is kept up. Full breakfast is included and is very nice as is the lady who serves. If you have outside activities to keep you busy, this is the place to stay. Easy to get to and very well maintained, There is an exercise room in the basement which I didn't visit but there is no pool or other frills. Ice, plenty of coffee, all you really need have a nice stay.

Room Tip: My room overlooked a major highway but was quiet. To ensure quite if you are a light sleeper, select...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have now stayed here twice and been very happy with the accommodations and the breakfasts. The receptionists have been universally welcoming and the rooms are large and comfortable. The price was higher the second time we stayed as it was in the summer and the Gettysburg 150th Commemoration coupled with the 4th July celebrations ensured that every room was taken. The second time we stayed we were given a huge room with only a kingsize bed. My grandson quite rightly wanted his own space but as the motel was full and another room not available, a bed arrived for him within minutes. Very efficient. This motel was recommended to us by American friends and we'd certainly stay here again. There are lots of good restaurants in the vicinity including the Red Horse Restaurant next door although Downtown Frederick is very close too.

Room Tip: The road is not noisy so don't shy away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

A few weeks ago, we stayed here for a wedding. My experience captured the "you get what you pay for" saying. The price was extremely fair but this hotel is bare bones. The room was dated and not as clean as I would like.
The customer service was lacking, from virtually all staff. I decided to forgo a family lunch to stay in our room due to a headache, so I placed the "do not disturb" sign on
the outside of our door. Just when I was about to fall
asleep, two housekeeping staff knocked on the door. I answered and they insisted to change the bed sheets right at that time. They seemed nice but were clueless
about how rude it was from a customer perspective.
On a positive note, the complimentary breakfast was pretty good.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Booked a room for two nights. On arrival we opened the door to room 102 and we were overwhelmed by the smell of mold or mildew. Laura at the front desk was very apologetic, but was unable to offer another room as the hotel was booked. She also called a neighboring Hotel to see if a room was available. Without hesitation she processed our refund.
They really need to clean or change the filters of the A/C units more frequently.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My family and I always stay at the Comfort Inn Red Horse in Frederick, MD We stay for business, and when we are visiting friends and family in the area. You always feel at home, from the front desk staff, to housekeeping, and the continental breakfast is great! It isn't just muffins, and fruit, they offer scramble eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, and a lot more. At check out Laura was especially pleasant, and they always great you with a Great Big Welcome Back to Look forward to seeing you real soon!

Room Tip: We enjoy the even number rooms, which face the front of the building. Stay here every time we are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We visited Frederick after moving from there many years ago. We decided to stay at the Red Horse. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even though the hotel is an older one, our rooms were very comfortable, nicely remodeled, and quiet. The continental breakfast was very good. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick

Address: 998 West Patrick Street, Frederick, MD 21703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Frederick
Frederick Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.