We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   998 West Patrick Street, Frederick, MD 21703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Red Bank
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and that was fine enough for me. The housekeeping staff did a nice job. My room was initially on the first floor near the front desk, which was okay as far as noise level/foot traffic on a week night; however, it became far too noisy on the weekend. The front desk person, Mary, was kind in allowing me to switch my room to the upper floor without any problem. Some of the other staff were less communicative. No one explained where the breakfast was served, for instance, so I had to wander a little -- and I saw other guests who were equally unsure. I ended up not eating the breakfast, so I cannot comment on the food.

I am sensitive to cigarette smoke and will confirm what the other reviewers have said about having smoke seep into the non-smoking room on the first floor. The room initially smelled fresh, but as people came in and began smoking in their rooms later in the evening, I noticed it. However, I did not smell the smoke on the upper floor once my room was changed.

If you appreciate quiet, you may try to arrange for a room on the upper floor with your room opposite the highway, as traffic noise from the highway is quite prominent. If not, keeping the fan/ventilation system running drowns out some of the sound. The water pressure was lower on the top floor versus the first floor, but still sufficient. There was plenty of hot water.

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay that is conveniently located, this might be the place for you. If you are looking for complete luxury, this may not be the best fit.

Room Tip: Top floor opposite the highway is probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
10
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night with friends on a recent hunting trip to the area. Room was average and clean. Breakfast was standard for hotel fare, nice selection and everything was hot and fresh. Might not have chosen this hotel myself, but it was more than enough for one night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

There was nothing really wrong with this motel. The receptionist in the evening was very friendly, as was the lady who prepared breakfast.

However, there is not much to commend the hotel. I never could access Wi-Fi, there was no lamp on the work table, and the water pressure was low in the bathroom. Also, during rush hour, the entrance to the motel is almost impossible to access.

It was an ordinary experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My family and I stayed here for a couple of days over the summer. All I can say is that if I ever went back to Frederick MD I would stay at a different Hotel. This place is just too old, smelly and dingy!! When we came back to the hotel about 10:30pm the front door was locked and nobody was at the front desk to let us in so we had to wait until the desk person returned to let us in the hotel.....First time that ever happened to me!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We ended up staying here because our original plans to stay at a different hotel fell through due to a power outage. There was a room available here so we decided to stay. The staff was friendly enough but the facilities were VERY outdated. Room/bathroom showed major signs of wear. Carpet looked and felt dirty. I question the cleanliness of the facility as a whole. It is also right off a highway and is VERY noisy at night. I would not choose to stay at this particular hotel again unless there were MAJOR improvements made to the facility. I would not recommend this hotel at this point in time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Checked in for 2-night visit. The room smelled like sour milk and smoke combination and was supposed to be nonsmoking room. It was in basement of hotel, my kids called it the dungeon looking at the trash dumpster thru the window. When leaving the room to talk to front desk about moving to alternate room, a MOUSE ran by heading towards the cafe. Manager said they could spray the room but I would have to stay out for an hour. Upon early checkout they credited me $30.00 for inconvience. However, called back next day to say it was a mistake and they were adding $20.00 back on my credit card! We definitely would not eat their "free" breakfast. Also woke up to bugs climbing up the desk and onto clothing that was left there. If you want something really nice and not much more money, try Hampton Inn in Germantown, absolutely beautiful and clean and you don't have to share your bed with a mouse or bugs. We got a 1 br suite for only $20.00 more and a breakfast we could enjoy, not to mention the large swimming pool and TV channels - flat screen.

Room Tip: first 2 levels smell like smoke/sour milk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is an older property and they have done some work to accommodate the needs of today's travelers (and they need to do more). The entrance, particularly at night, can remind one of coming in to an old time downtown hotel. There is no front desk. It is a counter built so high that it blocks any view of the reception person. They lock the doors at some time during the night, and with no buzzer, you have to hope the person behind the counter can hear you - then you see a hand reach up to a large button on the wall and buzz you in. One night, we had to knock on the glass door. The set up is not a deal killer, but sure is less than welcoming. The desk people were not very communicative. I think the high desk front contributes to their detachment from the guests. I went in and out of this place a dozen times during the stay and was never welcomed with a smile, and rarely an acknowledgment (even though you have to pretty much stand in front of the counter to use the elevator). The wireless service is poor on upper floors - I never got a signal and was told not to expect one. They do have DSL cords if you want to go back to being tethered to the wall to work. The shower curtain needed changed. The sink drained poorly. After a complaint, it was not fixed. The elevator was very small and abutted against the reception desk/barrier. Went to the breakfast room once. They had carved it out of an old conference room in the basement. Seemed pretty musty to me. I have a strong hunch the smoking rooms were down there, too. Having said all this, the place was clean, the bed and pillows comfortable and reasonably quiet, considering the closeness to the road. Entrance to the lot can be harrowing - an immediate left turn into the lot after making a turn from a very busy road. Be careful the car behind you is not too close. As said, the building has been around a long time and they have had to convert what was acceptable when this was built into making it work now. It was not an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick

Address: 998 West Patrick Street, Frederick, MD 21703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Frederick
Frederick Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Red Horse Frederick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.