We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Rosa

Santa Rosa
107 Baughman's Lane, Frederick, MD
301.662.9348
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 321 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Baltimore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a great place we discovered this past weekend. A small place across form the Motel 6 in Frederick, it has exceptional food. The cuisine is Mexican and Salvadorean, we think that the Salvadorean influence is strong which is a great thing. We absolutely loved the food and the waitstaff was very attentive and friendly. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new holland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Got carry out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a place I would recommend for those that want something different than American. I ordered Mexican carryout and loved it but it had a little spice. Slightly hot which I like. Service was very good and friendly.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just Right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere is on the edge of being beautiful. The bright colored maps on the wall in my opinion should look aged to go with the rest of the decor. We were welcomed and seated immediately and given salsa and chips to tide us over while we waited for our order. We ordered the Carne Asada which was just the right portion size. We also ordered a shrimp and steak meal which was excellently spiced. The fried plantains were also excellent. We ordered flan and coffee for dessert and were disappointed that the mugs were plastic. But the coffee was good. Overall we very much enjoyed our meal and will definitely return. I highly recommend Santa Rosa because the portion sizes are reasonable as is the price.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband is from El Salvador and the food we had was excellent. Its difficult to find good food at a reasonable price like this, if you're looking for a good meal for a family this is it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious, our go-to spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

One of the best kept secrets in all of Frederick! We take all our out of towner friends here, and have yet to have a bad meal. I've noticed that there has been a surge on Friday and Saturday nights, but even still, service is always good and food always hot. Food is moderately priced, fresh, and full of flavor. The margaritas are equally delicious, as well as other staples, like the chips/salsa/guacamole, and my favorite, the skirt steak.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Rosa also viewed

 

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.