We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volt Lunchbox - CLOSED

Volt Lunchbox
50 Carrol Creek Way, Frederick, MD
301.360.0580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As a fan of Bryan Voltaggio from Top Chef, my friend and I made a special trip out to Frederick just to eat at one of his restaurants. Even though this is the most casual of the ones he operates, we were not disappointed! I had a delicious pulled pork sandwich for lunch at a very affordable cost, and we were able to enjoy the canal area while we dined. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone for lunch!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    10
    11
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dickerson, Maryland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches; Volt is not part of name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This lunch spot is owned by the same chef as Volt, but doesn't have the name as listed here. The name is really just Lunchbox. Great place for a simple lunch done right. Menu is limited to sandwiches, salads and soups. Roast beef is nice and tender and the pastrami is good. Nice plain decor. No liquor license as this is a lunch spot only; craft sodas instead. Worth a visit and worth of Brian V.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Nice Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The sandwiches were good and pretty fast. The staff really made the place. They were pleasant, informative and fast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Everyone Left Happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I went here with some coworkers for lunch. This is a "stand in line to order" type place. It was a little small, and very busy, so it was difficult to find a place where we could all sit together. It would be nice if they added outdoor seating. The food is all lunch stuff- sandwiches and salads- but they were all unique and gourmet. The prices were reasonable and everyone loved their food- not a crumb was left on anybody's plate. Free green apples were provided with any purchase, which I really liked. The sodas available for purchase were all the glass bottle kind- Coke with real sugar, etc. I got a diet cane cola that I had never seen before, but it was great. The servings of iced tea were too small, and they were so busy that it was difficult to get a refill.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yummy sandwiches, quick service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I brought my 4 year old and 6 year old here on a rainy day after visiting Frederick's awesome library. Kids had grilled cheese, I had a portabella mushroom sandwich, we had one chicken and biscuit soup and a brownie. The bill was $22. The sandwiches were very good - bread was yummy. The soup was a very small serving, as noted below. The dessert was huge - we split one brownie three ways and felt very, very full. This is a comfortable place to bring the kids - service was very fast, and it's casual. The choices for sandwiches were a little limited.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volt Lunchbox also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volt Lunchbox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.