We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied with The Wine Kitchen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
50 Carroll Creek Way, Suite 160, Frederick, MD 21701
(301) 663 - 6968
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wine Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 327 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Take a right off Market St. onto Carroll Creek Way
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very satisfied with The Wine Kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Dined at The Wine Kitchen on a spring Saturday evening. We're from Philadelphia and picked this restaurant based on tripadvisor reviews. It was a good choice. Warm greeting from the hostess and while there was no room at the bar for a pre-dinner cocktail, we were seated quickly and before our scheduled reservation. The staff on the whole was friendly, well-informed and not at all pretentious. The menu is nicely varied and fairly priced. Prices for wine by the bottle were surprisingly reasonable. Our meals were both outstanding. Flavorful and pleasingly presented. When in Frederick, we'd highly recommend The Wine Kitchen.

Visited April 2014
Thank rtsuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great first visit & won't be my last”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I visited with a couple of girlfriends early (6:30) on a Fri night. Atmosphere was lively but the restaurant has a good mix of intimate tables and some where your neighbor is a little closer. Our server Sarah was energetic, knowledgable & did a great job of sharing specials and assisting with wine selections. Both the greeters and Sarah were welcoming & set a great tone for our entire experience. They serve wine in flights, by the glass or bottle which I love since you can try a few wines without busting your wallet. We had their pappardelle as a starter which they change seasonally. It was a modest portion but accented nicely with ham and olives which added a punch of salt. My friend had had it before in the winter and didn't like it as much this time. We also enjoyed a nice cheese plate. For my entree I had the 8 oz filet which is served with mashed potatoes & seasonal veggie (green beans the night we visited.) I had given up beef for lent so after 7 weeks of abstaining this filet lived up to every expectation & craving I had. It was cooked perfectly to my requested temperature & had a wonderful flavor. Our server presented us with 3 types of salt for seasoning but it didn't need a thing. The mashed potatoes were amazing & served in a cast iron dish which kept them nice & warm. The green beans were cooked well, slightly crisp, but I felt had too much salt. Overall an excellent meal. My friend always orders the Peruvian Chicken which was a large portion although includes the breast, leg & wing complete with bones which I imagine might be a turn off for some. And the third meal were scallops served on a bed of beets & I think risotto which was also thoroughly enjoyed. The menu really does have something for everyone including multiple options for vegetarians. I will be visiting Wine Kitchen again no doubt especially since there is also one closer to where I live in Leesburg! Highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
1 Thank Juleszee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Ate here based on other trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Warm welcome on arrival and friendly staff.

Entree and main were both good. We shared a beet salad entree then both had a burger. All well cooked and presented.

Tried one of the Wine Trio's - great idea and an excellent way to try and few different wines.

Dessert was a little disappointing - we orders the Dolche du Leche creme pot. Not sure quite what it should have tasted of but it was very sweet but didn't really taste of Dolche du Leche.

Overall a nice evening - left feeling fully and happy and price was reasonable as well.

Visited April 2014
Thank d9300q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Favorite place in Frederick! The food is outstanding, happy hour deals in the bar are exceptional, and the atmosphere is perfect for anything from casual to special occassions! Have only ever had to wait for a table once during brunch. Outside seating along Carroll Creek available. Private dining room also available.

Visited February 2014
Thank kt4309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We like the Wine Kitchen for the creative and original meals. We took visiting family here and everyone enjoyed their dinner. Five uniquely different plates were ordered and served perfectly. The wild boar shank was the best dish and the rack of boar second. The scallops were perfectly cooked and the chicken expertly done. We all enjoyed the appetizers and the wine selection is outstanding. You should be able to pair a wine of your liking with any of the dishes on the menu.

Do not miss going to the Wine Kitchen if you are a Frederick resident or just visiting.

Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed


Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing