We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Location and Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
50 Carroll Creek Way, Suite 160, Frederick, MD 21701
(301) 663 - 6968
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wine Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 320 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Take a right off Market St. onto Carroll Creek Way
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Delightful Location and Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Four friends met for lunch here today and really enjoyed the experience. Especially liked the fact that you can get a wine flight, a glass or just a 2 oz. taste. The wine descriptions were really amusing. You can get any combination of 2 items for $18 or 3 items for $23. You could get 3 salads, or an appetizer, entree and dessert or 3 entrees. I had the baby beet salad which was delicious and the wild mushroom strudel which was over the top good. Friends enjoyed the mussels and trout, and husband had the root veggie chips with a very good sauce and grilled eggplant (he was disappointed in that as that is all it was, just eggplant with a frothy sauce and no embellishments. We wished we had left room for dessert as the small selection would still have made it difficult to choose. Service was very good. Large outdoor patio on the creek would be lovely in nice weather. Crystal chandelier in ladies room was fun. Half empty, it was very quiet. Not sure that would be the case with all tables filled.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    45
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a great lunch here! The carpaccio salad was impeccable! The tuna tartare exemplary! Loved the flight of whites (Though I thought the pours were less than generous.). It was a birthday luncheon and we were pleasantly surprised with complimentary pumpkin cheesecake with ice cream! Amazing! (Would have liked a bread service.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Everyone can a Robert Parker wannabe at The Wine Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Love the concept of wine flights. Had the Red Carpet and the Spanish flights. Both had interesting and distinctive wines that went well with the food. We mostly ordered small plates: tuna tartar, pappardelle, endive salad and then the French dip burger. All were well prepared and delicious; we didn't experience the misses that some of the other reviewers had. Given the small pours, it made sense to us to do small food tastings instead of entrees, and we were glad we did. Oh, and we shared a chocolate mousse cake for dessert--way enough for two and perhaps up to four!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I wanted to love it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Seoul fries were excellent, as were the staff and the wines. They took great care of us, but both our entrees (Pheasant and halibut) were almost inedibly dry.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wine kitchen Revisited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have visited the Wine Kitchen in Leesburg and enjoyed the wine and accompanying appetizers. Had lunch with a large group when the Frederick site opened. Loved the experience. My two daughters and I dined at the WK last evening and our experience was not as memorable. The lobster special had run out by 8 p.m.. The cheese appetizer ( 3 small pieces of cheese) with a bread basket was overpriced. Ordered an appetizer of pasta w/ mushrooms as an entree.. It was presented in a small bowl at double the appetizer price. The two orders of Rockfish were very good, however, the portions were quite small and over-priced. Our server was great. The atmosphere wecoming but we left feeling overcharged for our visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.