We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dining gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
50 Carroll Creek Way, Suite 160, Frederick, MD 21701
(301) 663 - 6968
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wine Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 320 restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Take a right off Market St. onto Carroll Creek Way
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A dining gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This was a diamond dining experience! We sat along Carroll Creek on a beautiful evening, the perfect ambiance for a delicious meal. We started with flights of wine, two-ounce pours of three different wines, from a menu of probably 30+ wine selections from around the world. Our server was most helpful, giving us recommendations that lived up to her word. We enjoyed the kale salad, the sunchoke vichyssoise, the tuna tartar, and the pastrami crusted yellow fin tuna. Everything was absolutely excellent. We shared the cheesecake dessert, with so many facets of flavor to complete the meal. Portions were a reasonable size, though a bit pricey, but the flavor was was worth every penny. We left satisfied and not uncomfortably full, with a bottle of our favorite wine. An overall gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    87
    38
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Impressive with outside seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stopped in after a round of golf for an afternoon lunch. We ordered the Mexican BLT and the Fish and Chips. The Mexican BLT was a nice change of pace. The Fish and Chips was light - not a heavy oil or heavy crisp. The wine selection is interesting. You can order three ways - 1. bottle 2. glass or 3. a sampling of three that are already in a trio on the menu. It was a nice way to explore some wines that you might not otherwise try. I would go back as they indicated that the menu changes as the food for seasons change. I like the local aspect to the food being served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful find, a new favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Based on reviews on this site, we decided to try The Wine Kitchen for Sunday brunch. We try to find restaurants that source from local farms, and this one absolutely does.
We LOVED it. Great service, great food, very clean, excellent farm to table approach, comfortable, and just all around terrific experience. Everything we ate, and we ate way too much for just two people, was delicious and prepared excellently.

Plus, they have an excellent wine list.

A new favorite. Highly recommend them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch @”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I just returned from a weekend trip to Frederick Maryland and wanted to give a big recommendation to Wine Kitchen. I had done some research on some of the restaurants in Frederick while planning our trip and Wine Kitchen was one of the eateries I was interested in. It was a beautiful Saturday afternoon and my wife and I were walking along the "creek" when we came upon Wine Kitchen. We quickly grabbed a seat outside and a waitress was there in a snap. She went over the food menu as well as the wine menu. We decided to go for the three course price fix which was outstanding for just $23. The setting was beautiful..right on the water and we agreed we could have been sitting anywhere in the world on that beautiful day. The great thing about the price fix at Wine Kitchen is it is not very limited at all. You can choose from starters, scheese courses, salads, entrees and desserts. We had the tuna tartar and a 3 cheese plate complete with spreads for our first courses and both were outstanding. They also have a wonderful wine list complete with wine flights starting at $9 for three samples. My wife had the bubblies and I had the whites and both were great. We then both gor the Homemade papardelle with mushrooms and I finished with rainbow trout and my wife had the mushroom strudel. All of the dishes were great and the ones were wonderful. You must stop by Wine Kitchen for lunch!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent stop for a flight of wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I were in Frederick to dine at volt and were strolling along the creek when we came upon The Wine Kitchen. I suggested that we get a glass of wine and went in. They have a nice sitting area with a sofa and chairs, away from the bar, in front of a fireplace. We each had a flight of three wines, themed, along with some killer curried cashews and nicely prepared tempura pickles. The atmosphere and decor were very inviting and we thoroughly enjoyed the wine. I look forward to another opportunity to perhaps try the dinner menu in addition to the fine wines.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.