We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Eating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
50 Carroll Creek Way, Suite 160, Frederick, MD 21701
(301) 663 - 6968
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wine Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 317 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Take a right off Market St. onto Carroll Creek Way
frederick
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unique Eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Food is made to order Unique menu...Very Healthy and fresh choices and of course many choices of good wines and tastings
Went for lunch....with a friend Would go back to try ther things...A little pricey for lunch and portions are small

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    64
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We enjoyed "finding" this restaurant in Frederick. It is actually on a Creek and can imagine that it would be a very pleasant dining experience in the spring/summer as well. We enjoyed a glass of wine before dinner. Although mine was quite enjoyable, it did leave a good amount of sediment in the glass and on the finish, which was disappointing. We were told that is normal for Spanish blend wines. As a result, I selected another wine for dinner. I had the NY strip which was prepared perfectly as requested. The table has a choice a three salts; however, the steak was seasoned properly and it did not need any additional salt. My husband wanted their hamburger which looked quite tasty as they passed us by; however, they sold out of hamburgers at 8 p.m., which was a disappointment. He selected the short rib and enjoyed. The wait staff are most pleasant and the owner was very attentive. He packaged my left over steak in a first class way, which reminds us that patrons remember the "little things" which make up the dining experience. We will definitely return for another experience of the casual but classy environment, good service and food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
363 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Spot in Frederick (Lunch)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have lunched at the Wine Kitchen several time before and like always they provide a great dining experience. We make an effort to stop there whenever in the area. I had fish and chips, which was the best. My husband had the pot pie and it was yummy. We had mac and cheese, too! If you are in the Frederick, Maryland area and need a little TLC - go to the Wine Kitchen!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Maryland
1 review
“Nice intimate dinner for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you haven't given it a try...you have to! Had been at their wine bar before but 1st time for dinner. We each enjoyed a "flight" of wine....The Local Sample and The Pinor Noir flight. Our server Rachel was a delight and very knowledgeable about the wines and the menu items.....and the best...she had a wonderful attitude and provided just the "right" amount of service. Our entrees were very savory and was the perfect way to end the weekend. Definitely will be back...soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick, maryland
Level Contributor
417 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
“Fabulous Frederick Food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We celebrated our "wedding anniversary eve" with dinner here - still great and right up there with Ayse Meze and Tasting Room as the Frederick top three restaurants. Service was extraordinary and the food was a real taste treat. We started with bacon biscuits (my wife) and PEI oysters (me) - excellent. I had the halibut (yes, really fresh halibut and no high methyl mercury tilefish or other substitute) over black rice with shitake mushrooms and a miso glaze - awesome flavors! My wife had the filet mignon - a perfect medium rare, accompanied by delicious mashed potatoes (without the seemingly obligatory garlic flavoring that so many places seem to add). We shared a mousse cake for dessert - not just any dessert, this was sweet potato mousse with huckleberries on top - it was delicious and light. We shared a bottle of a very smooth chianti (without the "liver and fava beans..."). This dinner was an absolute delight!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.