We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational and Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Civil War Medicine

National Museum of Civil War Medicine
48 E. Patrick St., Frederick, MD 21705
+1 301-695-1864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 things to do in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Museum of Civil War Medicine is the premier center for the study and research of medical innovation during the American Civil War. Exhibits, programs lecture and research facilities look at innovations in science, medical logistics, medical organization, nursing, civilian medical relief and much more.
Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Educational and Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This museum is in the heart of Frederick, Maryland and is located in an unassuming brick building next to a parking garage. Once inside, you will be immersed in the primitive (by our standards) world of Civil War medicine, when doctors were often considered butchers and nursing was not yet a respected profession. If you take a couple of hours and actually read most or all there is to read, you will be flabbergasted and educated by how much the practice of medicine has evolved in the past century and a half.

Because of the carnage caused by the Civil War, our system of hospitals that are part of our society today, was created and perfected. The doctors in battle had to amputate thousands of mangled limbs to prevent the spread of gangrene, which would surely cause death. This practice seemed savage, but was actually a lifesaver to legions of soldiers. The lack of sanitation and their limited knowledge of pathology caused so many problems that we don't even think about today. More soldiers died from disease than from battle.

If you have an interest in the Civil War or in medicine, or 19th century American history, then this museum will not disappoint.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    49
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small, but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I only takes about an hour to see the exhibits, but (especially if you have a medical or nursing background), it's pretty interesting. Did you know that the concept of "triage" and using ambulances were "invented" as a result of the Civil War?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nicer Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I took my parents here while they were visiting- Mom is a nurse and Dad is an archaeologist, so perfect place for them! We found ourselves splitting off and reading things that interested us and spent a couple hours there. I am in the medical field and was amazed at how much the Civil War shaped hospitals and medicine today. This is a very clean very organized museum and I recommend for age 12 and up. Little ones would lose their minds here. It is in a great area of restaurants and unique shops- just a great way to spend the day. Beans and Bagel directly across from here has wonderful coffee, homemade muffins, egg croissants, etc.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Things you might not have appreciated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Frederick is rich in Civil War history. Harper's Ferry and the Antietam Battlefield are nearby. This museum will help you appreciate the status of medicine at the time. It's a two floor museum. Allow about an hour. The exhibits are well done. If you are in the areas, it is worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Do take an hour or two and explore this fascinating place. It is very well done and provides a great deal of information in a way that kept our interest and made us curious for more. Many historical artifacts, recreations and exhibits that personalized and gave faces to the experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Civil War Medicine also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Civil War Medicine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Civil War Medicine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.