We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer Than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Civil War Medicine

National Museum of Civil War Medicine
48 E. Patrick St., Frederick, MD 21705
+1 301-695-1864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Museum of Civil War Medicine is the premier center for the study and research of medical innovation during the American Civil War. Exhibits, programs lecture and research facilities look at innovations in science, medical logistics, medical organization, nursing, civilian medical relief and much more.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nicer Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I took my parents here while they were visiting- Mom is a nurse and Dad is an archaeologist, so perfect place for them! We found ourselves splitting off and reading things that interested us and spent a couple hours there. I am in the medical field and was amazed at how much the Civil War shaped hospitals and medicine today. This is a very clean very organized museum and I recommend for age 12 and up. Little ones would lose their minds here. It is in a great area of restaurants and unique shops- just a great way to spend the day. Beans and Bagel directly across from here has wonderful coffee, homemade muffins, egg croissants, etc.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    62
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Things you might not have appreciated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Frederick is rich in Civil War history. Harper's Ferry and the Antietam Battlefield are nearby. This museum will help you appreciate the status of medicine at the time. It's a two floor museum. Allow about an hour. The exhibits are well done. If you are in the areas, it is worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quality small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Do take an hour or two and explore this fascinating place. It is very well done and provides a great deal of information in a way that kept our interest and made us curious for more. Many historical artifacts, recreations and exhibits that personalized and gave faces to the experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great docents”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Be sure to call ahead for a docent tour. I learned so much at this museum. I liked the displays. They were simply written and personal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Based on the name of the museum and from the outside, I wasn't very excited to visit this museum. But once inside, my mind was changed immediately. The museum staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, and the museum is well organized, designed, and laid-out. The information was very interesting and thought provoking. The decoration and dioramas were a nice touch. A lot of the exhibits are "reading based", but there is also lots to see and look at. I didn't have any kids with me, but kids 9yr ++ would probably enjoy it.

You can find a coupon for buy-one-get-one free on their website. Also, we visited this after visiting the Antietam National Battle Field, and the two went well together. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Civil War Medicine also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Civil War Medicine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Civil War Medicine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.