We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very interesting museum, Especially if you love civil war history OR healthcare history!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Civil War Medicine

National Museum of Civil War Medicine
48 E. Patrick St., Frederick, MD 21705
301-695-1864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 activities in Frederick
Type: Specialty Museums, History Museums
Attraction Details
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very, very interesting museum, Especially if you love civil war history OR healthcare history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent 2 hours in the National Museum of Civil War Medicine, and found it very, very interesting. I am not a Civil War buff, but I DO enjoy information about the history of healthcare. There are two floors and many rooms of information... regarding the medicines, doctors, nurses, and field hospitals that were utilized during the Civil War. I learned about the many homeopathic and pharmaceutical medicines that were used to "cure" everything from diarrhea to gangrene. One myth that was debunked was that "most surgeries and amputations were done with "no anesthesia. In actuality, 95% of such surgeries were done with the assistance of chloroform or ether. It was fascinating to see the surgical instruments that were used...a bit crude for present day, but somewhat effective at the time. Many lives were saved due to the heroic efforts of the medical personnel during that time...this museum honors those doctors, nurses, and emergency medical personnel (both white and black) who risked their own lives to try to save the soldiers from battle injuries and disease. There was also a section that provided follow-up information on survivors of horrific battle injuries...how they were treated...what their injuries looked like...and what contributions they made after they healed from their wounds. If you think you would enjoy learning about the pharmaceutical products and surgical tools of the Civil War, then you will enjoy your time at this museum. If you are a nurse, doctor, or EMT, you will also love it here! And kids old enough to read will be fascinated by the amputations, surgical tools, and grotesque treatments of the 19th Century.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    41
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Education Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I researched the museum online and created a "scavanger hunt" for my 11 year old to complete during our visit. He had a great time finding all of the things on his list and really enjoyed the museum.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
665 reviews 665 reviews
443 attraction reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
792 helpful votes 792 helpful votes
“There is More to Civil War Medicine than One Would Think”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The American Civil War was the first major conflict of the industrialized era and saw may firsts as war transitioned from Napoleonic tactics to modern tactics. The handing of the large number of wounded including the wide spread, systematic field hospitals, triage, ambulance corps, etc. were included in the Civil War firsts. This museum does an excellent job of telling this extensive story that few really know including me until our visit. Even my 12 and 14 year olds were fascinated. My best advice is to not make the same mistake we did by not leaving enough time to see everything.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gem of Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

What a great museum that details just the medical accounts of the war. It is inexpensive to get into and gives a very thorough account of the war. Glad we went!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great perspective - Especially for Medical personnel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

When we first moved to Frederick we visited the museum and since then have brought dozens of visitors, because it is so special. My wife is a nurse and has been fascinated by the type of care provided during the War in relation to her nursing experience. For me, the museum provides a great perspective on the role played by Frederick during the War. We never fail to learn something new on each visit. This is a "must see" for any Frederick visitor ... or resident, for that matter!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Civil War Medicine also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Civil War Medicine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Civil War Medicine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Museum of Civil War Medicine to your Saves list