We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasand dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sumittra

Sumittra
12 East patrick Street, Frederick, MD
301-668-2303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 321 restaurants in Frederick
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Franklin Lakes
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Pleasand dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Three of us enjoyed a very pleasant dinner here. Good service, excellent ambiance, and very good food. We particularly enjoyed the pad thai and the drunken noodles. Plus they have a good Thai beer. Reasonably priced. We would definitely come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    29
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Sumittra is a quaint little restaurant with delicious thai food. Great for couples, business, friends etc. Maybe kids, but only if they like thai food. MAKE RESERVATIONS. Place is always busy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Located right off Market Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The food here is excellent. Our favorite is the Volcanic Shrimp and Pad dishes. They have very good crispy Spring Rolls for an appetizer. Our favorite Thai restaurant in Frederick.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiazaDG
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Drunken Noodles if you like Spicyyyyy!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

So trying to find a place to accommodate my south eastern Asian family is hard since they always require cuisine that has rice! We always have to fall back on Thai or Chinese. Found this place on yelp and soooo glad we did! My dish was amazing - got the drunken noodles with chicken and it was on point!!! It was very spicy so if your stomach can't handle it, I would go with something else. My brother ordered Jungle curry and it wasn't his favorite, he said it was too spicy and the veggies didn't complement each other well.
This place gets busy but our server was very attentive which was a plus. Very narrow restaurant but cool ambience and it does get loud. Overall, I would come back to this place again next time I'm in town!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A Delicious and Flavorful Meal with Wonderful Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I went to Sumittra for a late lunch early, dinner meal. With the weather beginning to chill, I felt like having something warm to eat, like a bowl of noodles. I had the Kao Soi curry noodles with shrimp and my husband had the Penang curry with chicken and rice. For appetizer, we had their ocean spring rolls. Those were probably the best spring rolls I've had in a very long time. The combination of cilantro with I believe shrimp and scallops were so tasty. The Kao Soi was so comforting and the curry soup absolutely delicious. The combination and portion of vegetables with noodles, including a touch of crunchy noodles with shrimp was perfect. We loved every last drop of the noodle soup and the Penang sauce. I will definitely return and look forward to trying another dish! Thanks to Sumittra also for providing such great service. Very sweet and attentive staff! You really get a sense that they care for their customers by cooking with quality ingredients and local veges.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumittra also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Sumittra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumittra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.