We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Drunken Noodles if you like Spicyyyyy!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sumittra

Sumittra
12 East patrick Street, Frederick, MD
301-668-2303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 321 restaurants in Frederick
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NiazaDG
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Drunken Noodles if you like Spicyyyyy!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

So trying to find a place to accommodate my south eastern Asian family is hard since they always require cuisine that has rice! We always have to fall back on Thai or Chinese. Found this place on yelp and soooo glad we did! My dish was amazing - got the drunken noodles with chicken and it was on point!!! It was very spicy so if your stomach can't handle it, I would go with something else. My brother ordered Jungle curry and it wasn't his favorite, he said it was too spicy and the veggies didn't complement each other well.
This place gets busy but our server was very attentive which was a plus. Very narrow restaurant but cool ambience and it does get loud. Overall, I would come back to this place again next time I'm in town!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    29
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A Delicious and Flavorful Meal with Wonderful Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I went to Sumittra for a late lunch early, dinner meal. With the weather beginning to chill, I felt like having something warm to eat, like a bowl of noodles. I had the Kao Soi curry noodles with shrimp and my husband had the Penang curry with chicken and rice. For appetizer, we had their ocean spring rolls. Those were probably the best spring rolls I've had in a very long time. The combination of cilantro with I believe shrimp and scallops were so tasty. The Kao Soi was so comforting and the curry soup absolutely delicious. The combination and portion of vegetables with noodles, including a touch of crunchy noodles with shrimp was perfect. We loved every last drop of the noodle soup and the Penang sauce. I will definitely return and look forward to trying another dish! Thanks to Sumittra also for providing such great service. Very sweet and attentive staff! You really get a sense that they care for their customers by cooking with quality ingredients and local veges.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not quite Thai-riffic but not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This restaurant is pleasant enough if a bit pricier than most Thai restaurants I've been to. The presentation of the food was imaginative, but the taste was only slighlty above average.

My recommendation: if you are in the area, it's worth a try. But I wouldn't go out of your way.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sumittra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I went there to relax and have a quiet dinner by myself after a long day at the office and it turned out to be a busy night. Just my luck. But the service and food were good. Nothing spectacular. They don't take Amex, fyi.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, Great location, Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We got the crab and avocado spring roll appetizer, which was delicious. For our entrées we had the drunken noodles which were great but VERY SPICY. I asked for it with squid instead of their choices of chicken, steak, shrimp or vegetables and they made it with no issue. My wife got the pad Thai with vegetables and it was also excellent. we both got that Sumitra Cooler drink (vodka w/ raspberry limeaid) on a night that was very hot and it was definitely refreshing. The service was good however our server was very busy and we could never order another round of drinks. It was also very hot inside the restaurant but I will give them a pass because it's an old building and it was probably 100° outside that night.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumittra also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Sumittra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumittra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.