We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in the name!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Tearoom - MOVED

Serenity Tearoom
119 E Patrick St, Frederick, MD 21701
13016958327
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“All in the name!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Serenity Tea Room is run by a risk but very friendly woman named Blanche, who pleasantly takes you through the 65 choices of tea and a selection of very good sandwiches. I can thoroughly recommend the turkey and bacon. The tea is perfectly brewed and the sandwiches are made to order. This takes longer, but it is restful waiting - where else in Frederick plays Sati and esoteric French chamber music and gets away with it? This should be supported - please patronise the Serenity Tea Room - I certainly will before I leave.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    8
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well-named”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I have been to the Serenity Tearoom twice now. We intend to go back many more times.

The tearoom itself is a cozy parlor with 9 tables affording 22 seats. The tables are laid with spotless white lace tablecloths.

The atmosphere is tranquil, with quiet music playing in the background. I believe the music serves a double purpose in that it does not disturb quiet conversation, but does prevent conversations at other tables from overlapping.

They have an extensive tea menu including black tea, green tea, oolong, flavored teas and decaf. We prefer strong black tea, and that is what they deliver. We have had the English Breakfast tea and the Irish Breakfast tea, both of which have been rich and hearty.

One touch that enchants me is that the china teacups are all the same size, but all different patterns - so pretty! Another thing I find admirable at the Serenity Tearoom is that when we order a "cream tea" they know exactly what we mean.

Both times we've been they have had a selection of scones, but they seem to have the golden raisin scones available all the time. The scones are flaky and tender and are served warm from the oven. Besides the clotted cream they have a selection of homemade jams and fruit curds. These condiments are all worthy of the scones.

The staff is welcoming and friendly, but never intrusive. Both times we've been the owner, Blanch, has greeted us, and also visited our table before we left to see if we enjoyed our stay. It is obvious she takes pride in giving her guests a pleasant experience.

Afternoon tea at the Serenity Tearoom is a time for us to relax, converse, savor. For a little while our life is gracious and unhurried. What a gift!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I really enjoyed coming here. You can try as much tea as you want, and they make adorable finger foods for you to snack on. The environment is very relaxing, and the owner was very nice to us.

My only complaint is the hours - not very agreeable with the average schedule. If you can squeeze it in, though, it is fully worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Birthday Presents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Every February, at my request, my daughter gathers friends to celebrate my birthday at Serenity Tearoom. Couldn't be a better gift. Lovely, warm staff; great high tea with a variety of goodies on the tiered plates.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful and So Very Civilized!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A delightful way to treat a dear friend to lunch. Wonderful setting for a long lunch, good conversation and extensive tea selection. Blanche was very attentive; food was tasty. [One drawback: Metered parking - bring quarters! Was not aware there was a parking garage further down the street] Plan on a 2 hr lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serenity Tearoom also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenity Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.