We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and So Very Civilized!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Tearoom

Serenity Tearoom
119 E Patrick St, Frederick, MD 21701
301-695-8327
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 313 restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: British, Tea Room
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Crofton, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful and So Very Civilized!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A delightful way to treat a dear friend to lunch. Wonderful setting for a long lunch, good conversation and extensive tea selection. Blanche was very attentive; food was tasty. [One drawback: Metered parking - bring quarters! Was not aware there was a parking garage further down the street] Plan on a 2 hr lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    27
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was my first time at this tea room and my friends and I had a lovely time! The teas were delicious, and the food served with the Traditional Tea experience were equally tasty. The Owner and staff were attentive and pleasant. Won't be my last time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, Nice Tea Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The food was very good and the tea selection was probably the largest I've seen so far. The staff was polite and friendly but the service was extremely slow. I probably wouldn't have notice so much if the tea had come quickly. I think the problem is the individual pots. When the tea room is full (which it was) having individual pots makes the last table served (ours) feeling underserved. Just putting a large pot of tea on the table for all to share until the orders could be taken and served would have made a huge difference. Instead, we were left a long time with nothing on the table. Portions of curd and jams were too small. A selection would have been nicer -- even if there were half the choices available.

As the tea is served in seatings, the last table served gets shortchanged considerably. We were (nicely) given to-go cups for our pots of tea as our seating was over before we were finished with our second selection of individual tea. The dining area was being cleaned (obviously) while we were trying to finish.

I'd suggest open seating so the servers could clean tables as each group finishes rather than staggered seatings. It would make for a more pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll Valley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great staff, but overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Owner Blanche and her family/staff are wonderful people, but the food needs to match. A group of 4 of us went for a birthday, and we all decided that for the price of $28.95(Tax & Gratuity not included), you definitely do not get your money's worth. The tea choices are impressive, about 50 different kinds. The food looks very good, but all of the food except the pastries needed seasonings. The butternut squash soup was boring, more like baby food, really in need of salt and pepper, very bland with a snip of parsley on top. How about offering a spoonful of cilantro chutney to stir in for some extra flavor? The same with the sandwiches; egg salad needed salt, roast beef was reddish color, looked more like pastrami. The chicken/cashew salad sandwich was delicious,as were the cucumber sandwiches, and the pastries were good. The scones get a C+, a little dry. The "homemade" jam and pineapple cream were just ok, and the amount is so small, a little more than a tablespoon in a very tiny bowl, not enough for the whole scone. The staff is so nice, just try giving your food some tweeks. Add some seasonings, maybe some watercress or arugula on your roast beef, or some little spouts on your egg salad. Fine tune if you want your customers coming back, and lower your price a little. Just telling the truth from multiple voices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
“Relaxing and Gorgeous Presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Oh my gosh - this was my first ever tea room. It was just exquisite. You get to make some choices (it was a little overwhelming at first but the delightful Blanche walks you through it) and others are made for you with no complaint from me. The food is delicious and clearly made with painstaking care. The tea is really, really wonderful and there were 65 choices so something for everyone. The four of us each had two different kinds and shared with our party so we got to sample quite a few. We each got some at the retail store to take home and my sister got some of the to die for scones, too. Worth every penny and then some!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serenity Tearoom also viewed

 

Been to Serenity Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenity Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.