We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Hearth Bakery

Stone Hearth Bakery
138 North East St., Frederick, MD
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Bakeries in Frederick
Cuisines: Bakeries
Restaurant details
Baltimore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I bought the multigrain and raisin and cranberry loaves and both were wonderful. Crusty outside, moist inside. Very flavorful. Loaves are around $4,75 each which is very fair these days. Also had a beef and onion empanada and a cherry tart. These people know how to do dough!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What an unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stumbled on Stone Hearth during the morning of a snow storm when nearly everything in Frederick had closed. I walked in and asked, "Why are you open?" the baker responded, "We've been here baking all night, why would we close now?" The gentleman who helped me was very friendly. I bought two delicious empanadas. I wasn't expecting such yummy empanadas in the US, let alone in Frederick. Everything in the case looked very tempting. I will definitely be going back. The bakery is near Shad Row as other reviewers have noted but it's on the periphery and very easy to miss. Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bets bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Always reliable for fresh and tasty bread. Kalamata Olive is my favorite. Other baked goods are very good, but I probably wouldn't give them a 'best' rating.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Started buying their bread at local farmers markets and then realized their shop is down the street from the coffee shop I go to every weekend. I love their rye and challah bread and my husband says their cookies are very good. Big selection of everything.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best fresh baked breads in Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Several of the smaller coffee houses and restaurants get their baked goods from the Stone Hearth. I recognized their sweets being served (most satisfactory apple turnover) at a nearby, popular Shab Row eatery. Their head baker told me that they only use a sour dough starter. This surprised me because often sour dough starter can be too strong; but he keeps it subtle for the lighter, brighter dessert fare. For a quickie lunch try their made to order sandwiches - you can't get fresher than this. Parking is limited but ok. Baker, servers, sandwich makers are all smart and friendly. Take home pies and rolls remain fresh and keep well. A great experience all-round.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Hearth Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Stone Hearth Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Hearth Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.