We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hog BBQ

Black Hog BBQ
118 South Market, Frederick, MD 21701
301-662-9090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 317 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Even though Frederick was packed, we got a seat quickly and really good service. The pulled pork sandwiches were delicious as were the sides we ordered. The sandwiches were very generous so sadly there wasn't room for pie! A great place to eat in Frederick.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    93
    25
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Black Hog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Delicious BBQ and sides, lots of beers, great service. The prices were reasonable, we would certainly go back again. They also had takeout.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This review is based only on the Carolina style BBQ sandwich, which was excellent. At $9 just for the sandwich, it's pricey to say the least. But after the first bite, I quickly forgot the price. The Carolina style BBQ had7 that 'cooked all day' taste, tender and full of flavor. I'll be going back, that's for sure. Of note, it's in a rough looking spot in downtown. Thankfully there's plenty of complementary parking for customers, so you don't have to walk far.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious - just a bit pricey for BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My family was visiting from Indiana and have sampled plenty of BBQ in Texas, Tennessee, and Arkansas. We were a bit skeptical of Maryland BBQ, but the food was delicious. Not the very best I've had, but pretty dang good. The prices are a little high for this type of food and the atmosphere feels out of place compared to southern joints, but you can't argue about the food. It's good. If we come back to Frederick, will be sure to return to Black Hog.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lake County, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“dude I'd eat this stuff every day for the rest of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Well, okay, once a week forever would do. Order it all, and then order more. Its fantastic stuff at reasonable prices. Service is good. Parking is easy.
Every time I visit Frederick, I hit the black hog if theyre open.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hog BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Black Hog BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hog BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.