We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hog BBQ

Black Hog BBQ
118 South Market, Frederick, MD 21701
301-662-9090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 364 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I rarely eat meat anymore, but this BBQ is scrumptious. My brother lives here and eats there every week, and now I'm a believer. I have eaten here three times, and amazingly this BBQ tastes even better than it was before. One of my favorite parts about Black Hog is that there are some picnic tables outside in the front of the restaurant. It provides some room to stretch out as you slowly savor the meal. In terms of the meat, I like the Arkansas ( in the form of a sandwich). Sloppy, sweet, and hint of bite, the Arkansas sandwich has a certain special bonus - slaw! Though the BBQ is the Pièce de résistance, all of the sides are insanely delicious. The fries and beans both are a safe bet, but the greens add another level of complexity. A good sign is that my toddler, who was there, loved every single bite that he ordered ( and some of mine too).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TCMaslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

If your looking for and great BQ place this is it! Don't wear you Sunday go to meeting suit cuz you're going to get down and dirty eating this food. I had a 1/2 rack of ribs and couldn't finish it. Delicious side dishes too. I'll come back when I'm in town again. The "wet" ribs are sloppy and the sauce a little on the rich side so you may want to try the "dry" ribs. The Burgers are good too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimnyduacti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
225 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

All of us got the BBQ platters with a choice of 1, 2 or 3 meats. All were delicious. No complaints except for the soggy French fries. And very reasonable price. $120 including tip for 6 of us. Specialty is the Arkansas BBQ. Definitely get it! Brisket was exceptional too.

Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
general
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent, affordable, authentic meal in Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We visit Black Hog BBQ frequently when we are in Frederick (which is not often--this is not a local establishment for us at all). We also bring foreign friends when touring the region (Harpers Ferry, Antietam, the old National Road etc), for them to experience authentic American BBQ. While we more usually appreciate cuisine, we aren't experts in BBQ (so if you are and disagree with this review, please accept our apologies for the rating). Our best BBQ meal was from a rural smoker in Tennessee a few years ago, Black Hog consistently comes in just below that and much better than most. Frederick has become a go-to dining town with restaurants such as Volt, but for a comfortable, affordable, excellent meal for carnivores this can't be beat.

Free off-street parking (though their lot may be full on a busy day).
Closed Sunday (we discovered this the hard way :-( ).
Plastic utensils that can't handle ribs--but you're going to wind up finishing with your fingers anyway, so surrender early.
Good choice of beers, including local (Flying Dog), no draft beer. I think there's a full bar.
Helpful staff.
Eclectic customer set, all ages and professions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AfricaAsiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good 'ole BBQ Pit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Several bbq styles and options, great burgers, and delicious fries make this neighborhood hotspot a must-visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wolverinenginerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hog BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Black Hog BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing