We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hog BBQ

Black Hog BBQ
118 South Market, Frederick, MD
301-662-9090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 330 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“BBQ heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I am from NC passing through town. Ordered the NC chopped BBQ with a side of potato salad. Superb! Beats several BBQ places for atmosphere, friendliness, and quality of food. Busy but didn't have to wait. Served quickly and appeared frequently to see if we needed anything. If you haven't visited, you should!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    71
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile


we had ribs and chicken. we had french fries and brown beans with cornbread. some of the best barbecue we have ever had and service was fast and efficient.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Pig Out At the Black Hog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Anyone in search of savory brisket, ribs or barbecue needs to seek this small and crazily crowded joint on South Market Street, just a few blocks south of the Carroll Park Canal. Quick and efficient take-out service for those on the go. If you have more time grab a table or a spot at the small bar in the back. Check their website for a 50% off birthday deal.

The only disappointment is that they are closed Sunday. Even hogs gotta rest.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If this place is #12 in Frederick, I need to visit the others. We stopped in on our way from Gettysburg to DC. It wasn't too far off the highway and the meal was delicious. They had a rib deal during our stop. They were some of the best ribs I've had in years. Lots of meat, great sauce. Kids loved their Mac 'n Cheese and cheeseburger. Cozy atmosphere and friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great addition to downtown fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Two hungry hiker/campers on their way home to Baltimore wanted to try a new restaurant. We have been in a Brewers
Alley "rut" for too long. We made a fine choice at the Black Hog. The place is very clean, servers were extremely friendly and helpful. There was a great selection of sandwiches, plates and sides....all at very good prices. Adequate beer & wine list. I had the ham sandwich and my wife had the chicken platter. Beans and slaw on the side...all good. Just one suggestion...add a BBQ chicken sandwich for the non-pork and red meat eaters. (My wife doesn't like to deal with bones).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hog BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Black Hog BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hog BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.