We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ in these parts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hog BBQ

Black Hog BBQ
118 South Market, Frederick, MD
301-662-9090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 320 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in these parts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I vacation every year in the south for the great food and hospitality. It's something you don't get in the north until last Friday when I visited the Black Hog for lunch. Instantly greeted and chose our seats. The waitress was on the ball and very sweet. She explained in detail the difference of the two different Carolina BBQ's that were offered. I personally like Carolina BBQ, but don't worry, they have all types. The food arrives quickly on these awesome buns and the coleslaw was soo good. If your every in Frederick or passing through, please stop there and get the best food. Their feeding times are 11 a.m. to 10 p.m.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    59
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great food! Great service!!! This was the first restaurant we had dinner in when we arrived in Frederick and were very pleased!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

had the ribs this past weekend and everyone at the table loved the great mixture of spice in the sauce.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Ribs, Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised that being near Baltimore I was able to find a more traditional barbecue place to eat instead of having to travel south or head to Texas :).

Overall I was happy with my experience. I ordered a full rack of ribs which were seasoned well in my opinion, and cooked well also (not quite fall off the bone, but easily picked clean from the bone). A little spice hidden in the sweet sauce that made it different from say, a larger chain restaurant's ribs. They also have more barbecue sauces to cater to different tastes.

It is a cool, laid back atmosphere and the service was good. They forgot to bring out one of my sides, but as soon as I let them know they made every effort to make it right.

Free parking next to/behind the restaurant, and a small cluster of tables for outdoor seating.

I would definitely go back to try something else. They also serve alcohol, which is always a plus :P

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tasty BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Black Hog has some tasty BBQ. The sauces are delicious. Portions could be amped up a little though. Especially sides. Service is kind of blah. Very limited seating so you may want to consider carryout. Free parking beside the building so don't be put off by the downtown location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hog BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Black Hog BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hog BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.