We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of choices and great beer selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hog BBQ

Black Hog BBQ
118 South Market, Frederick, MD
301-662-9090
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #5 of 314 restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
PA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lots of choices and great beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We ate at the Black Hog for a friend's birthday on a Friday night. The place is not huge, so all tables were seated pretty quickly and there is not too much room for people to wait around in. There is a small bar tucked in the corner, so check there for a seat and eat there if you want. Lots of parking off street behind the building, which is convenient. My husband had a 3 meat platter and I had a chicken platter. Sides are all homemade and yummy! There are different sauces on the table so you can mix and match as much as you like. The beer list had some excellent, unique craft beer choices as well as the regular choices. Try the Vanilla Porter or the "Sweet Baby Jesus" - a chocolate peanut butter porter brewed in Maryland. Both are excellent, hard to find choices. Server was pleasant and attentive, prices are reasonable, and we would definitely eat there again. We had no room for dessert as the meals fill you up!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    86
    48
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakfield, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited this restaurant once before, and again, it didn't disappoint. I had the pulled pork, which was very good. My husband wanted brisket, but they were out. So he ordered the Arkansas beef, and it was quite possibly the best BBQ beef I've had. And, the mac and cheese is made with real cheese...really good. The dining room is small, but service is efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Average barbeque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My girl friend and I had gone there for lunch in Aug., 2012 and loved it!! We talked about returning for months and finally got the chance to go there for dinner tonight. We were seated immediately, even though it's a Friday night and dinner time-prob. around 6 PM. The waitress came right over and got our drink orders. She asked if we had any questions and if we were ready to order. We weren't quite at that point, so she came back. I got the briskett plate with potato salad and my friend got the pulled pork and mac and cheese. The meals came with corn bread. We ate our food and paid the bill and left. On the way out, I commented to my friend, that I had remembered our meal in Aug. to be a lot better and she said the same. We aren't sure why. Not in a hurry to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“GREAT pulled pork and greens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been here twice and had the pulled pork sandwich both times. It's a little pricey for BBQ but the food is outstanding! The greens are probably the best I've ever had outside of the South and maybe even better. I wish it was a little bit less expensive and that coleslaw came with the barbecue sandwiches. I ate at the bar and I had very good service but there was a server that had a little bit of attitude towards the manager in front of the customers while I was there. The restaurant was filled with military personnel from the local army base which tells me that transplants from other parts of the country were coming here for "real" BBQ. YUMMY!!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DOWNTOWN location: Good Food/Free Off Street Parking/Great Specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Your choice of what I call "real" bbq or what my husband loves "Carolina style", good size portions, decent prices and friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hog BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Black Hog BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hog BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.